Meatloaf with Awesomesauce

Meatloaf with Awesomesauce - Candy Coated Culinista

Meatloaf with Awesomesauce – Candy Coated Culinista

The only time I have ever had meatloaf was from the Stouffers microwave dinners. I gladly ate them when in a bind because they were good; but then I found this recipe. Now I can say I enjoy homemade meatloaf proudly. Mr. C. was also not a huge fan of meatloaf and as he puts it “They always seem to be dry” but he loved this recipe and it has become one of his favourite dishes. I have made this a half-dozen times or so now and my ingredients have strayed from the original but that’s the way I am, I have to put my stamp on a recipe.

Altered from: Nadia G’s book ‘Cooking for Trouble’

Warning: You will have leftovers! That’s a good thing here, trust me.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 2lb ground beef
• 1 egg
• 1 yellow onion, coarsely grated
• 1 potato, finely chopped
• 1 cup Hunt’s tomato paste
• ½ cup dry Italian breadcrumbs
• 1 ½ tsp. sea salt
• ½ tsp black pepper to taste
• ½ tsp paprika
• ½ tsp garlic powder
• ½ tsp onion powder
• 1 tsp basil, finely chopped
• 1 tsp parsley, finely chopped
• 1 tbsp. unsalted butter
• 2 tbsp. prepared mustard
• 2 tbsp. brown sugar
• 2 tbsp plain balsamic vinegar
• 5 dashes of Frank’s red hot sauce
• 1 cup water

Meatloaf
1. Combine ground beef, egg, onion, and potato, ½ cup of Hunt’s tomato paste, breadcrumbs, sea salt, black pepper, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, basil and parsley.
2. Grease a loaf style baking pan with butter. Form the beef mixture into a loaf and put in pan.
Awesomesauce
1. In a bowl combine ½ cup of Hunt’s tomato paste, mustard, brown sugar, balsamic vinegar, and water.
2. Whisk and set aside.

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. Baste meatloaf with awesomesauce and bake for 1 hour 15 minutes.
3. Continue basting every 15 minutes until the meatloaf is cooked.
4. Once it is cooked let it rest for 5 minutes and then remove, slice it up and serve.

Tips
• Do not slack on the basting portion. It will be well worth it to have a juicy loaf.
• Serve with zucchini roasted in a dash of extra virgin olive oil, coarse sea salt and black pepper.
• Serve with some gravy. My gravy consisted of: the meatloaf drippings, 2 tbsp flour, sliced cremini mushrooms, grape tomatoes sliced, leftover awesomesauce and water. Place all the ingredients in a small saucepan and whisk until gravy has thickened up.

Cheesy Garlic Potato Mash

A great accompaniment to my version of Meatloaf with Awesonsauce

Ingredients
• 6 Yukon gold potatoes, washed
• 4 cloves of garlic, minced
• 1/3 cup milk
• 2 tbsp unsalted butter
• Kosher salt, to taste
• Black pepper, to taste
• 1/3 cup mozzarella, grated
• 1/3 cup mild cheddar cheese, grated

Assembly
1. Add salt and a little vegetable oil to a large saucepan with water and put to boil.
2. In a small saucepan place milk, butter and garlic to simmer.
3. Slice potatoes into even pieces and place in pot once water has boiled and cook until tender.
4. Once potatoes are cooked drain and mash.
5. Add in the garlic infused milk and cheese and mash until smooth.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
Mr. C. loves this recipe. He always wants more but does not go back because he is full, even though he really, really wants to! So he’ll just pick at the some of the ingredients left out before I pack the leftovers up and parcel out them out for work and dinner the next day. “Absolutely amazing babe” “What’s in those potatoes, yum” “That was great, I can’t wait for leftovers tomorrow”.

My Thoughts
This was the first recipe I made from Nadia G’s cookbook and I absolutely love this dish. It has turned me off buying any pre-packaged meatloaf and I will always make my own from now on. The meatloaf has a nice crust on it and we always want seconds when we know we shouldn’t. Don’t forget to baste; much like a turkey it may seem tedious but it’s worth the effort. This is a comfort food meal that I enjoy making all year round, but when there is a nip it the air it taste so much better.

Leave a comment