Macaron Diaries – Petit Theut

Petit Theut - Candy Coated Culinista

Petit Theut – Candy Coated Culinista

Co-Owner and Chef: Marc Thuet.
Location: 1 King Street West Toronto, Ontario
Website: http://www.petitethuet.com

Today I finally have a day off work, so instead of sleeping in like any normal person would do, I took a trip @ 7:30am to Yonge-Dundas square to see the Tumblr & Batpod which were there for a promotion for the Batman movie, The Dark Knight Rises. (Mr. C. will be very happy with all the pictures & video I took for him!) So since I was up already I decided I would make the best of my morning, and I took a walk down to one of the stops on my search to taste the best macarons Toronto has to offer.

I go into Petit Theut and it’s pretty quiet, but then again all the patrons, except for me and two other guys are on their way to work. I can see a display case full of 17 varieties of Macarons, all I could think was “Wow!” I will have to make a trip back around in the near future to try some more of the flavours they had. They were a little bit bigger than a twoonie, and at the price of $13.00 with tax for 5 it is a once in awhile treat for sure!
The flavours I picked were Lemon, Raspberry, Blueberry Cheesecake, Cookies & Cream (for Mr. C.), and a Lavender coloured one I picked because it just looked pretty! The first one I tried was the raspberry macaron. The filling was a raspberry jam which was very sweet, even for me, but still delicious none the less. This is a decadent and rich treat and was my first morsel of food for the morning, I was truly happy, and thought what a great day this was going to be! The first piece is surprising, the shell is hard to the touch, but melts in your mouth once you bite into it.

The blueberry cheesecake tasted exactly how I envisioned it. The filling was cream cheese and blueberries. I’m not a cheesecake fan or a cream cheese in desserts type of person either yet I loved it. It was the perfect combination and not too cheesy. It never got to the point where I wanted to put it down, I just kept on eating and enjoying every bit not wanting it to end!

Since I had a whole day off, I decided to roam Toronto and since I was heading in the direction of St. Lawrence Market I said to myself, “Why not? It will be quiet at this time in the morning.”

Leave a Reply

