Macaron Diaries – Butter Avenue

Macaron Diaries: Butter Avenue - Candy Coated Culinista

Macaron Diaries: Butter Avenue – Candy Coated Culinista

Place: Butter Avenue Patisserie & Cafe
Location: 3467 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario, M4N 2N3
Hours: Monday: Closed, Tuesday- Thursday: 11am – 8pm,
Friday & Saturday: 11am – 10pm, Sunday: 11am – 7pm
Website: http://www.butteravenue.com
Prices: $2.25 each, 6 for $13.50, 20 for $45.00

I had a half day from work and had some errands to run. On my way home I found myself in Mid-Town Toronto, and for once I was nearby another Macaron Patisserie I have wanted to visit for a very long time. Believe me I’m glad I finally managed to get in there. After running around I was not in the mood to make dinner and I picked some food up and walked over to Butter Avenue to get dessert. The café is quite small, but the clean lines and minimalistic approach to the design helped to make the space seem bigger. I noticed immediately the Macarons and other desserts. There is also loose-leafed tea for sale by the cup or to enjoy at home. I saw a very cute onesie that had colourful Macarons on it; what a lucky kid that gets to wear that oh so cute onesie. That left me thinking I wish they had something in my size. When I finally made it to the case there were about 10 flavours and I chose: Lychee Raspberry, White chocolate Strawberry, Cream Cheese Passion fruit, Café Au Lait, Matcha Chocolate and Cassis.

Lychee Raspberry – I could taste the lychee filling (which is one of my favourite fruits). It was sweet and chewy and it was filled around the outer rim of the shell with lychee filling and the inside to my surprise was the raspberry jam. It tasted heavenly.

White chocolate Strawberry – 2 small dried strawberry pieces are added to both sides of the shell. The filling was strawberry jam in the centre and white chocolate around it. It was soft and sweet and after the initial sweetness of the first one, I didn’t notice it as much on this one.

Mr. C. had the Café Au Lait & Cream Cheese Passion fruit. He even commented when he had the second one. “Ooohh there’s jam inside this.” I like it now that his palette is getting better at noticing nuances and such, he can appreciate the subtleties more. He can thank me for that and yes I’m taking credit because where he came from to today is vast. I brought home six and he somehow managed to have 4 while I only got 2; the sneaky bugger. How in the world does that happen when I love all things macaron!

Comments

  1. lizandlifestyle says:

    So pretty!

Leave a comment