DIY Sweet Treats Peep-Toe Heels

DIY Sweet Treats Peep-Toe Heels - Candy Coated Culinista

DIY Sweet Treats Peep-Toe Heels – Candy Coated Culinista

I saw a pair of shoes I just had to have. I was watching Masterchef Canada and a contestant vying to be on the show walked up to the judges in these shoes that had sparkly ice cream cones on the back. Immediately after to show finished I was tracking these shoes down. They were a Karl Lagerfeld & Melissa Collaboration. Looking at the shoe I was sold. They were made from eco-friendly recycled rubber, meaning a vegan shoe and there is the added scent of perfume throughout the shoe, because I can only guess how stinky a rubber high-heeled shoe can get. I ordered my shoes online and to my chagrin they were a little snug and since Melissa shoes don’t come in half sizes I had to return them. I’m not one of those girls who squishes their feet into a smaller shoes, because they look so good. I don’t want the bunions and broken toes thank you, but still after I returned them I was still thinking about these shoes and I thought I can make a shoe myself can’t I? All I need is paint, some sparkles and I’m on my way. As my design process evolved I said, “well now I can do macarons my favourite treat, and I was all ready to start decorating when I found some great supplies that made my ice cream shoes evolve into my Sweet Treats Peep-Toe Heels.

Supplies
• A pair of patent leather shoes, any style you like(I got my from Aldo for $14.99 in the clearance section)
• Green painters tape
• Newspaper
• A box to spray shoes in.
• 1 can of Krylon Watermelon indoor/outdoor spray paint, any colour you like
• Fine Sand Paper
• Extra Fine Sand Paper
• Nail Polish Remover
• Cotton balls
• Q-Tips
• Stickers, any design you like
• Spray on Glitter Sealer

Assembly
1. Buy a pair or patent leather shoes or find an old pair in good condition that you don’t wear anymore.
2. Using green painters tape, mask off the whole shoe excluding the heel.
3. Stuff the shoes with newspaper and wrap more painters tape around the shoe to keep the newspaper in place.
4. In a well ventilated area inside a box (so paint doesn’t get on other objects and surfaces) spray paint over the heels in thin even coats.
5. Repeat spray painting the heel as many times as needed to get the colour desired.
6. If the paint starts to bubble, lightly rub the area with fine and extra fine sandpaper.
7. Re-spray the area that needs touching up.
8. Let the heels dry for a day before you start on the next step.
9. Remove the painters tape.
10. If the paint has bled through remove with a little nail polish remover on a cotton ball or a Q tip.
11. Apply stickers onto the heels and press down firmly.
12. Apply glitter spray over the entire shoe and apply a few coats until the amount of sparkles you desire is reached.
13. Let cure for a day or two.
14. Enjoy your craftiness and your amazing new spring shoes.

Tips
• Multiple coats are needed. If you spray on too thick of a layer at once it will bubble and run.
• Spray paint dries within 5 minutes or so depending on the manufactures label; but I wasn’t going to risk my hard work so I gladly waited a day or two to let it cure between stages.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
I had to show these to my dad because I felt so proud of what I did and he said he really liked what I did and “good job, those look so good”
Mr. C. of course loved them and always motivate my crafty side, because I get so happy and my face lights up when I creating with my hands.

My thoughts
The sparkles was an after though when I was trying to look for a sealer of some sort and couldn’t find anything. I walked around Michael’s and got inspired.

DIY Sweet Treats Peep-Toe Heels - Candy Coated Culinista

DIY Sweet Treats Peep-Toe Heels – Candy Coated Culinista

DIY Sweet Treats Peep-Toe Heels - Candy Coated Culinista

DIY Sweet Treats Peep-Toe Heels – Candy Coated Culinista

DIY Sweet Treats Peep-Toe Heels - Candy Coated Culinista

DIY Sweet Treats Peep-Toe Heels – Candy Coated Culinista

Inspiration Shoe - Candy Coated Culinista

Inspiration Shoe – Candy Coated Culinista

Inspiration Shoe - Candy Coated Culinista

Inspiration Shoe – Candy Coated Culinista

Comments

  1. Awesome work!!!!! I just need silver heels for a wedding next week, was thinking if I could convert yellow heels into silver…what do you think? Doable or too much work?

    • Thanks Maiu. I had so much fun making these. Yes it’s totally doable. If your heels are going to be all silver, all you really need is the spray paint as you don’t have to mask anything. Just do it in a spot where you won’t makes other items silver and apply thin coats. They’ll turn out great.

Leave a Reply

