Mosaics Workshop

Mosiac Workshop - Candy Coated Culinista

Mosiac Workshop – Candy Coated Culinista

Place: Glass Mosaics Canada
Location: 709 The Queensway, Etobicoke , Ontario, 647-977-3030
Hours: Mon: Closed, Tues & Wed: 12 – 7pm, Thurs & Fri: 12-8pm Sat: 11-6pm, Sun: 11-4pm

I always want to learn new forms of art and I have never tried mosaics, so when I found a workshop in the G.T.A. I had to go and try it.

At the beginning of our workshop our instructors told us a little about Mosaic tiling and that it dates back to before Christ. Mosaics uses small pieces of glass, stone and even other materials to create art or decorations. For the workshop we had three choices, we could make a picture frame from a pre-cut/assembled frame, coasters or custom. I didn’t have the intention of going custom on my first attempt at mosaics; but the option a blank piece of wood had me intrigued. We learned the direct method for application of the tiles which is exactly as it sounds; we apply the glass tile directly to surface. I will say all of us students had the hardest time coming up with a design concept and as I was the only one to go custom I had an even harder time. A blank canvas leaves too much to the imagination, as I had no idea what I wanted to make as the usual things I like would be hard to portray in a 2 hours’ workshop. From that moment I just started grabbing tiles and colours and soon enough I was making a sailboat on the ocean. The instructor said I’d probably not have time to finish this as I was getting to complex, but with 5 minutes to spare I finished it. Sure I had to rush the colour scheme at the end for the sky, but I was still very proud of what I had accomplished in two short hours.

As usual I have found another form of art I love and I want to take a course there sometime and practice mosaics at home. I found it relaxing even though I was rushing to finish and a person could spend hours just grabbing the right colours and shapes of the glass even before applying them onto a surface. Once completed we had to let the mosiacs dry for 24 hours before we grouted if we so desired. I wanted to grout my picture as I had put non linear shapes of glass into my piece, and needed to fill in some space where possible. I am no stranger to grouting so when I was told the steps I mentioned I have grouted tile before so I’m good, and then once that is finished it needs to dry for another 24 hours or longer. The instructions and supplies were excellent and the instructors also gave tips and hints for us if needed. It was a great way to spend a couple of hours on the weekend.

Mosiac Workshop - Candy Coated Culinista

Mosiac Workshop – Candy Coated Culinista

Mosiac Workshop - Candy Coated Culinista

Mosiac Workshop – Candy Coated Culinista

Mosiac Workshop - Grouting - Candy Coated Culinista

Mosiac Workshop – Grouting – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

