DIY Body Scrub

Body Scrub - Candy Coated Culinista

Body Scrub – Candy Coated Culinista

I have recently started taking baths to relax and de-stress as my life is getting very busy and hectic at work and home. So I have been purchasing all types of bath products. I have been grabbing them on sale but other than that, it would get very pricey just to relax. I thought I can make these myself and they would have less chemicals and save myself a few bucks; and I’m now learning about homemade skincare low level. I’m not going to be mixing any weird or dangerous chemicals at home, as Mr. C already warned me and said “Don’t blow up the place” and made a bad Breaking Bad joke about me also.

Yield/Serving: 3 ¼ cups (740ml)
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 5 minutes
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 2 ½ cups Sugar in the raw
• ¾ cup white granulated sugar
• 4 – 5 tbsp vanilla extract (or coconut, almond, orange etc.)
• ¼ cup almond oil

Assembly/Method
1. Mix together the sugars
2. Mix in your oil and vanilla extract with the sugar and combine.
3. Put scrub into a container

Tips• You will need an airtight container to store scrub in.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
I used this the night I made this and at first it smelt a little alcohol like, but the smell dissipated and next time I will add some essential oil to alleviate that scent. My skin felt great and the sugar particles didn’t cut into my skin like some other scrubs I have used before. My skin absorbed the almond oil as I showered, so when I got out my skin was dewy moist and not stripped from the body wash I used before the scrub. I am looking forward to learning how to make my own body care and they make great present for your friends who like to take baths. Below is a breakdown on price.

Price Comparison
$0.43 White Sugar
$4.31 Organic Cane Sugar
$1.75 Orange Extract
$3.66 Almond Oil
= $10.15 Total for 740 ml

368g of scrub from the body shops would cost around $16.00. An exfoliant would run you about $6.00 but is also sand based usually and is harsher on the skin. It really comes down to what you buy regularly and if this works out better for you. I like the feeling of putting something on my body I made and has ingredients I can pronounce.

Comments

  1. As a student on a severe budget I cannot afford much and the holiday season really hurts my bank account so when I found this DIY body scrub I was in heaven!! I used slightly smaller jars so I was able to get 2 presents done out of just one of the servings. These smell amazing and feel even better!! I used the vanilla extract for mine and I found 4 tablespoons was enough to make the entire kitchen smell wonderful so I stopped there, I tried it myself in my shower afterward and my skin right now feels so soft! I honestly can’t remember the last time my skin felt this good and I think people are going to be really surprised I was able to make this myself. This was an amazing idea I’m so happy to have stumbled upon this on your blog! Thank You Thank You Thank You!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

