Macaron Diaries – La Bamboche

La Bamboche - Candy Coated Culinista

La Bamboche – Candy Coated Culinista

Location: 4 Manor Road East, Toronto, Ontario, M4S 1P8 (416.481.6735)
Website: http://www.labamboche.ca

On my way to go see a movie in uptown Toronto I realized that one of my Macaron Quest shops was in the area so I made the little trek out of the way to visit La Bamboche.

This bakery is quietly tucked away on a side street just off Yonge St. between Davisville & Eglinton. When you enter there are many beautiful treats that will call your name and say, “try me, I’m sooo good!” I bet they were, but I was on a mission this day, and I will not deterred! Today there were eight varieties of macarons available. I had checked their website ahead of time and chose the flavours I wanted; but to my pleasant surprise those flavours were not there. There seems to be a different roster of macaroons, the flavours on the menu this day were strawberry champagne, margarita, yuzu (a citrus fruit from East Asia), mystery, sangria, lavender, Shirley Temple , watermelon, pistachio and caramel sea salt. These macarons were roughly the size of a loonie and cost 2.60 each and if you buy 6 or more it is tax free. So I was treated to six by Mr. C! and the clerk complimented him on his new Steampunk Metroid shirt, which made him very happy! I choose strawberry champagne, sangria, mystery, Shirley Temple, pistachio and caramel sea salt.

Mr. C. thought these were much creamier than Petit Theut. The first one I tried was the sangria, it’s a lovely shade of purple (my favorite colour) and is delicate to the touch and the filling was light and airy; almost whipped like. Next was the strawberry champagne: This is my favorite so far, the filling tasted like strawberries and has a little silver edible pearl as a decoration. The taste was everything I was hoping for, it’s sweet but not too sweet; so you can eat more than one and not overdose on sugar. I can’t wait to try my next one Shirley temple but two was my limit for the night.

The next day I enjoyed my Shirley Temple. It was delightful! Now I haven’t had a Shirley Temple in a very long time, probably since I was a child at a wedding. I loved it, and the next time I go back I will be enjoying my Shirley Temple macaron with a real Shirley temple.

I brought Pistachio to work for a co-worker and after enjoying the sampling I gave her, she understands why I am in love with these things she never even heard of before.

Leave a comment