Zombie Infected Minion Cupcake Decorating Practice #3

Zombie Infected Minion Cupcakes - Candy Coated Culinista

Zombie Infected Minion Cupcakes – Candy Coated Culinista

“He’s so fluffy, I’m gonna die!” “Silas Ramsbottom …. Bottom.” “ Bee Doo Bee Doo Bee Doo.” Believe it or not these have become a part of my vocabulary and I’m an adult … well sort of an adult. Since the first moment I saw Despicable Me I have fallen in love with these movies and I even have a plushie Agnes, Unicorn and Minions. As usual for Halloween I like to make a kid-friendly treat for the kids at church, but let’s face it the adults love them as much as the kids and sometimes even more. I wanted to make some Zombie Infected Minion Cupcakes with cupcakes from scratch; but of course when I don’t want my cupcakes to rise, they rise the highest they ever have and also look a little anemic and lacked flavour. I think I shouldn’t have batched down a larger cupcake recipe of mine. Oh well this gives me time to practice on my decorating skills.

Yield/Serving: 24 cupcakes

Ingredients
• 1 pack of Halloween themed Wilton baking cups (cupcake liners)
• 1 box of Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe White Cake
• 3 extra large egg whites (per Duncan Hines box)
• 1 1/3 cup water (per Duncan Hines box)
• 2 tbsp canola oil (per Duncan Hines box)
• 1 box of Twinkies
• 99g Wilton Sparkle Gel, black
• Wilton Candy Eyeballs
• 1 – 450g Creamy Home-Style Vanilla frosting
• 1 Vial (teardrop) of blue food colouring
• 1A piping tip
• Piping bag
• Handful of brown jimmies, for hair

Assembly
1. Bake the cupcakes per the box instructions and fill 24 cupcake liners.
2. Once baked, immediately remove from baking pans and move to wire racks to cool completely.
3. Unwrap the Twinkies and cut in half.
4. Using the black sparkle gel, draw on a line for the goggles and a bigger dot in the middle and adhere a candy eyeball in the top portion of the Twinkie half.
5. Draw on the mouths using sparkle gel and set aside.
6. Slowly pour and mix blue food colouring into the vanilla frosting.
7. Prepare the piping bag and pour in the frosting.
8. Pipe frosting onto cupcakes and top with your minions.
9. Add jimmies to the tops of some Twinkies to make hair.
10. There will be some cupcakes without Twinkies, just add an eyeball and some jimmies to the frosting.

Tips
• Ensure you don’t pipe right to the edges, as the frosting will spread when the Twinkies are pushed down into the frosting the frosting will spread to the edges.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
The reviews from the adults were thumbs up and these are so cute and creative. The kids just ate them without any thanks as that’s how kids are lol; but their blue teeth, noses and cheeks said they were good.

My thoughts
I had so much fun making these. I even had to buy a new set of bigger piping tips and I’m so happy that I can finally make cloud frosting even if the set was expensive I will use these tips alot. I thoroughly enjoyed it every step of the way and it really didn’t take too long. My biggest issue was getting the cupcakes into the container (the Twinkies wouldn’t let me close the container for transporting). For $20 I have some pretty crafty and awesome cupcakes for the kids at church.

Despicable Me Plushies - Candy Coated Culinista

Despicable Me Plushies – Candy Coated Culinista

Zombie Infected Minion Cupcakes - Candy Coated Culinista

Zombie Infected Minion Cupcakes – Candy Coated Culinista

Zombie Infected Minion Cupcakes - Candy Coated Culinista

Zombie Infected Minion Cupcakes – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

