Macaron & Cookie Diaries – Petite & Sweet Bakes

Petite & Sweet - Candy Coated Culinista

Petite & Sweet – Candy Coated Culinista

Place: Petite & Sweet Bakes
Location: 718 Queen Street East, Toronto, Ontario, M4M 2H5 (647-748-7704)
Hours: Monday: Closed; Tuesday- Thursday: 11am – 8pm; Friday & Saturday: 11am – 10pm; Sunday: 11am – 7pm
Website: http://www.petiteandsweet.ca
Prices: Macarons: $2.50 each; Cookies: $2.75 each.

I was on the way to the gym and I took a different streetcar which forced me to start walking from Broadview & Queen or wait for the next streetcar. It was a nice evening so I decided to take a walk. I made it all of 10 steps from the corner when I was greeted by Macarons. Needless to say my next few steps found me in the Petite & Sweet Bakes shop. This tiny storefront is done up in a luxe, upscale motif, with little tiny & adorable decorations throughout with pops of colours with a high gloss shine. I went to the case and saw the offerings: French Macarons, Cake Pops, Mini Cupcakes, Truffles, Turkish Delights, Brownies, Meringues, Cakes, Cookies and finally Speciality Coffee’s. When I was looking through I noticed some of the cookies I was eyeing looked strangely familiar. You see, even though I have never had the pleasure of tasting one of these cookies before, I knew them from their distinct look. “They are selling Moo Milk Bar Cookies!” Moo Milk Bar is on my Quest list to go visit but getting out to Queen Street East & Woodbine Avenue is a little much when it is not spring or summer. I plan to get out there for sure in the summer with Mr. C as I must try their flavoured milks and more of their cookie flavours. Today I ordered the passion fruit macaron & cowgirl cookie (espresso powder, pretzels, toffee bits, semi-sweet chocolate chips & oats) for Mr. C., and for myself I got the peppermint macaron and the red velvet cookie (a hint of cocoa with white chocolate chips).
After finishing up my post I realized I know this logo from somewhere, but where. I watched a show on Food Network Canada called Sugar Stars about the ups and downs of an events planning company, which is the other half of Petite & Sweets Bakes.

Review
We both loved our treats. Mr. C. didn’t have much of a comment but he finished them. I thought the macaron was sweet, refreshing & cooling, a perfect treat in the winter season. I found it was a little sweet as my sweet tooth acted up, but I still enjoyed it. The red velvet cookie was so good, it was crunchy, chewy, thin & sweet and the first words after I ate it were mmmmmm so good.

Leave a Reply

