Macaron Diaries – Loblaws Patisserie

Loblaws Patissserie - Candy Coated Culinista

Loblaws Patissserie – Candy Coated Culinista

Happy Macaron Day and the first day of Spring! Today is Macaron day and I had intended to have my 2nd attempt Macaron post up but I just somehow got side tracked with other recipes and holidays (St. Patrick’s Day) C’est la Vie. Macaron Day has been celebrated for the last nine years now, and it was created to get people to try my most favourite treat and also give money to a local charity. In Toronto they are supporting the Red Door Family Shelter and various children related causes like the Sick Kids Hospital. Spread the love to today and get your self a Macaron and support this cause. For more information about Macaron Day T.O. click here.

Place: Loblaws @ Maple Leaf Gardens
Location: 60 Carlton Street, Toronto, Ontario

I was in Loblaws on a search for Anchovy Fillets, for the Roasted Turkey Breast with Olive Salsa Verde I was going to make. As I passed the Patisserie section to my great excitement I saw Macarons and Portuguese Custard Tarts. I was in a rush that day so I decided to come back another day to partake. When I went back there were cases and cases full of cakes, cupcakes, bon bons, tarts and much more. Let me tell you this patisserie takes pride in their product from beginning to end. I placed my order and the patissier gently placed the macarons in a cellophane bag and then transferred them into a paper box, and put a sticker on it with directions. It said its best served 30-45 minutes after removing it from the fridge. She was about to tell me to be careful as these are very delicate and we both said “delicate” at the same time and laughed. I had previously learned how delicate they are from holding them for 3 hours on Quest #2 La Bamboche. There is no safe place in a movie theatre to rest my precious delights without worry so set them on my lap.

I needed to take a picture of all their offerings but was feeling a bit awkward. Then a man to my right was approaching and saying “you to eh”, to which I replied “yes I love these things there my quest” to which he said “they’re all so so yummy and beautiful”. So we both just took our pictures and smiled.

When I tasted these I immediately noticed the difference from the other two macarons I have tasted. The meringue was made very differently; the interior of the shell had air pockets in it. I believe they used the Italian meringue method versus the French meringue method I recently tasted. It tended to crumble more as there was no body to the shell to keep everything together. The fillings were pretty good but the shell made it hard to enjoy my macaron experience.

Loblaws Patissserie Case - Candy Coated Culinista

Loblaws Patissserie Case – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

