Healthy Diaries – Greenhouse Juice Co.

Healthy Diaries - Greenhouse Juice Co. - Candy Coated Culinista

Healthy Diaries – Greenhouse Juice Co. – Candy Coated Culinista

Place: Greenhouse Juice Co.
Location: 5 MacPherson Avenue, Toronto, Ontario, M5R 1W7 (Between Rosedale & Summerhill subway stations)
Phone: 416-546-1719
Hours: Monday-Friday: 7:30 am – 6 pm, Saturday: 8 am – 6 pm, Sunday: 9 am – 6 pm

I had an early morning errand to run and knew Greenhouse Juice Co. was in the area. At 7:45am I went in and I asked a very helpful associate to explain to me and suggest to me some juices. She explained that the juices are cold-pressed, which makes the juices nutrient packed, raw and unpasteurized. I was even gave me a few taste samples to help me decide what I wanted to purchase and when I made my selections I was given a menu for next time and I was on my way to work.

My selections were:
Deep Roots – $8-250ml or $11-500ml – beet, carrot, apple, celery, lemon
Benefits – Lung kidney & liver cleansing, bone strengthening, heart healthy, antioxidizing
Rabbit Run – $7.50-250ml or $10.50-500ml – carrot, apple, ginger
Benefits -Immunity & metabolism boosting, anti-inflammatory, stress reliever
Tumeric – $5.50 for a shot
Benefits – anti-inflammatory, antioxidizing

These juices were really healthy and tasty and I could detect all the ingredients in each juice. I didn’t care for the turmeric at all even though I know the health benefits are great. I poured half a shot into my deep roots and it overpowered the whole juice. Turmeric is very pungent to me and also gave me a stomach ache and I didn’t even consume that much. I have heard others get the same reaction to turmeric also and maybe I have to build up a tolerance, or for me I’ll just stay away as I prefer my raw healthy juices to be less spicy.

I do find that it’s too overpriced as I could make it at home, but doing the cold-pressed process is what makes it a little different and attributes to the price. However, if you’re on the go, don’t have time to juice vegetables at home or own a cold-press juicer it’s worth it just not all the time. Each juice comes in glass bottle which probably helps to increase the price; but I expect no less than a glass bottle. To me the whole idea is to be healthy and having plastic bottles wouldn’t be healthy to the environment, or our bodies.

Keep in mind that these types of juices have a very short shelf life but that’s to be expected, so don’t purchase too many at once and also arrive early as there is a tendency to run out of those popular flavours before the end of day. Next time I will try the nut-milks and keep in mind that it’s not cheap eating healthy for sure.

Leave a Reply

