DIY Dip Dyed Ombre Denim

DIY Dip Dyed Ombre Denim - Candy Coated Culinista

DIY Dip Dyed Ombre Denim – Candy Coated Culinista

If I can find a cheap pair of denim, I am bound to start getting creative.

Difficulty level is: Easy & Fun

Materials
• Inexpensive skinny jeans, any colour
• RIT Dye (Green Apple)
• 1 Large rectangular bucket or bin
• 1 bucket
• 3 litres of vinegar
• 1 cup salt
• Laundry detergent

Assembly
1. Follow the instruction on the RIT Dye bottles, and pour into containers.
2. Quickly dip your jeans into the bucket of dye and dip to just below the pockets.
3. Remove from the dye bath and let it hang dry.
4. Once they have dried it is time to set the dye.
5. Place jeans in a bucket and cover completely with vinegar.
6. Soak for 1 hour or longer.
7. Remove the jeans and place in the washing machine on the cold cycle with ½ cup of salt and laundry detergent.

Tips
• Use whatever colours you like.
• Wash the jeans alone the first couple of times to ensure you don’t damage any of your other clothes.
• Hang dry to keep the colour vibrant if possible.
• When washing after use colour safe detergent which brightens colours.
• I would suggest buying one size larger than you usually wear. Once the dye is on the denim most of the stretch is gone. I found mine to be a little snug. I can still wear them, but just a heads up.
• Let the denim dry hung up for 1 week or longer.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
This denim turned out much better than my tri-dye denim. This time around I let it dry for a month. I just hung it up and let it air dry and cure naturally. I had no bleeding which is what I wanted my prior pair to look like. So if you are in no rush the longer you let it cure the better and stronger the dye will stay. Just think of it like an oil painting. It needs to cure.

DIY Dip Dyed Ombre Denim - Candy Coated Culinista

DIY Dip Dyed Ombre Denim – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

