Macaron Diaries: Nadege Patisserie

Macaron Diaries: Nadege Patisserie - Candy Coated Culinista

Macaron Diaries: Nadege Patisserie – Candy Coated Culinista

Location: 120 Adelaide Street West (The PATH) – Richmond & Adelaide Centre
Hours: Monday – Friday 7:30 am – 6:30 pm

While walking in the PATH back in 2014 on a lunch break exploring I saw a sign that Nadege Patisserie would be opening a location soon. I said finally as I still hadn’t managed to make it out to their Trinity Bellwoods location in over 3 years. Friday being Macaron Day I decided to celebrate by visiting here. Of all the patisseries giving back a portion of their sales Nadege topped them all by giving 50% of all their macaron sales to the Sick Kids Hospital for Macaron Day.

Today I purchased 12 macarons and also a box of their marshmallows. The flavours I got were: passion fruit milk chocolate, olive oil, Guinness (the last day to catch these from St. Patty’s Day), coconut lime, grapefruit cayenne, banana chocolate, orange zest, bacon maple, camembert, mojito, cotton candy, cappuccino and gin & tonic flavoured marshmallows. Twelve macarons cost $27.50 and the marshmallows were $6.

I found a lot of the fillings tasted the same to me even though the flavours were different. I think the flavours could be bumped up a touch so they could shine more. The grapefruit cayenne was my favourite of them all and I could taste both flavours and there was a slow after kick of the cayenne. The savoury flavours tasted like any other macs and I was expecting a distinct taste of cheese or olive oil which didn’t happen. As for the macarons themselves they had spaces in the shells so they crumbled on the first bite and didn’t retain their structure.

These aren’t in my top three for macarons in the city I think, but I will visit when I am in the area and they have the most selection of macarons on a given day. I am happy to finally have tasted from this patisserie after all this time.

Leave a Reply

