DC Cupcakes

I was going through some of my old posts pre-blogging and found this food entry of the time I met Katherine Kallinis and Sophie Kallinis LaMontagne.

Who: DC Cupcakes – Katherine Kallinis Berman and Sophie Kallinis LaMontagne (Airs on TLC)
Book: The Cupcake Diaries: Recipes and Memories from the Sisters of Georgetown Cupcake

As I am a fan of DC cupcake, the moment I saw there was a book signing coming up I was in. I arrived early and realized this was a much more subdued book signing as there were more adults, fewer children and a smaller line. In the eyes of the public, they are new to the baking scene so only true fans would be going. I arrived at 5pm and was 3rd in line for a 7pm book signing. During their question and answer period I learned that they are from Hamilton, Ontario and would love to open a cupcake shop in Toronto someday! If they ever open a shop in the Greater Toronto Area I will make it a point to visit and even see if I could get a part-time job and learn all I can about running a business and baking for the public. These ladies have been through so much to get where they are today, and their knowledge; tips would be priceless to me.

Katherine and Sophie talked about their favourite recipes, how they come up with flavours and how they fell into making a show. (They were selling cupcakes like every average day, and one of the customers worked for TLC, and the rest is history). They told us about all the hard work, what it takes to get a business started and the very long hours that goes into this business, but that it’s much more rewarding then there previous 9 to 5 jobs.

When all was said and done we were treated to some cupcakes, yummy! As I have an idea of which cupcakes are what flavour from the show, I picked the red velvet with the cream cheese icing and it tasted great! They were very moist considering that they made them back at their Flagship store in Georgetown Washington D.C., and sent them here a little ahead of their arrival. This was a very thoughtful and sweet gesture to show some appreciation to the fans. The frosting wasn’t too cream cheesy; which is the way I prefer my red velvet cupcakes, and this was the first time I had seen the cloud piping on a cupcake. The whole atmosphere was more relaxed and we were allowed more personal candid shots, and in my eyes this was an afternoon and evening very well spent.

If I’m ever in the U.S.A. and near one of their shops I will line up and indulged in a beautiful delicious cupcakes, wait who am I kidding probably a few.

Leave a comment