Very Berry Galette

Very Berry Galette - Candy Coated Culinista

Very Berry Galette – Candy Coated Culinista

When I received my August issue of Chatelaine I said to myself “I need to try whatever this galette thing is, and it really looks like a rustic pie and therefore a perfect first attempt pseudo pie recipe”. I learned a galette is a French term for a free-form crusty cake. Since I haven’t made pie dough from scratch yet I have some work to do. Up until this week I would buy the pie crust and am quite content with that when I’m lazy or in a time crunch. The recipe said I could make the dough up to 3 days in advance and that’s exactly what I did as I was so busy but wanted to try and make this thing. The dough came out perfect and was easy to roll, but when I was waiting for it to get to room temperature I was having my doubts to be honest.

I had a chance to use for the first time my marble pastry slab and marble rolling pin I got at the CNE Pavillion from Benix. It was such a great steal I had to buy it even though a year ago I knew I had no intention of making pasties that required rolling, as it seemed like alot of work to me. I would purposefully choose recipes where rolling isn’t necessary; I just seemed to stay away from it. But this recipe made me go into my treasure chest and pull out my baking accessories and roll away. Marble is fairly easy to keep cold but ensure that it is cold to make the dough easier to roll out. I could use any fruits I desired, but I knew what I wanted to do the moment I saw the cover. I just had to reproduce this cover to the best of my abilities. That cover from the get go just said ‘make me” and that’s exactly what I did.

This is another Chatelaine Cooking Club Challenge I chose do, as I like to pick the recipes that I have never tried before and see what comes of it. I was chosen again amongst all the pictures and I was very excited to see my picture was included.

Yield/Serving: 8
Prep Time: 30 min.
Cook Time: 35-40 min
Difficulty level is: Medium

Ingredients
Pastry
• 1 ¼ all-purpose flour
• 1 tbsp granulated sugar
• ¼ tsp salt
• ½ cup cold unsalted butter, cubed
• 4 tsp ice water
• 1 tbsp lemon juice
Filling
• ½ cup packed brown sugar
• 3 tbsp cornstarch
• 1/8 tsp salt
• 4 cup berries* (strawberries sliced if large)
• 1 tsp coarse sugar
• Icing sugar (optional)

*Use any mix of soft fruit like berries, peaches, plums and apricots.

Assembly
1. Whirl flour with granulated sugar and ¼ tsp salt in a food processor. Add butter. Pulse until crumbs form. With motor running, add ice water and lemon juice through spout. Continue whirling just until dough comes together. It should not be sticky.
2. Position rack in the bottom of the oven to 375°F. Lay a large piece of parchment on counter. Sprinkle lightly with flour. Pat pastry dough into a ball. Dust rolling pin with flour. Roll pastry on parchment into a circle, about 12” wide. Pastry will be very thin and edges will be uneven. Transfer parchment and pastry to baking sheet.
3. Combine brown sugar and cornstarch and 1/8 tsp salt in a large bowl. Stir in berries until coated. Tumble fruit mixed onto centre of pastry, forming a 10” circle. Fold pastry over, just to cover edge of fruit. Centre of pie should not be covered with pastry, and edge will be uneven. Lightly brush pastry with water then sprinkle with coarse sugar.
4. Bake until pastry is golden and mixture is bubbly, 35 to 40 min. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream, or cool and dust with icing sugar.

Tips
• Make-ahead tip: Make pastry, wrap in plastic and store in the fridge up to three days. Let sit at room temperature about 20 min before rolling.
• I made my dough in my blender, as I don’t own a full sized food processor. Blendtec says you can make dough in the blender and it was basically achieved. I was just fearful that I was going to kill the motor so I did the last bit by hand; but it is possible to make dough in a blender.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
It tastes like pie and is fast and simple. The berries bubbled and the juices flowed from the bursting berries and created this jam like sauce throughout the galette. The pastry held up to the saucy jam and maintained its crunch as I took my bite. Mr. C. thought it was a bit messy for his liking (totally surprised me there); but as I cut a piece and held it up and did not break or run over. The galette had a sweetness and tartness in each bite and is a great dessert idea for a casual dining party or a backyard party.

Very Berry Galette - Candy Coated Culinista

Very Berry Galette – Candy Coated Culinista

Chatelaine August Cover

Leave a Reply

