Crustless Blueberry Pie

Crustless Blueberry Pie - Candy Coated Culinista

Crustless Blueberry Pie – Candy Coated Culinista

Still being the fraidy cat that I am of a proper pie crust I have exclusively stayed away from it for a couple years now. A doughy crust does not please me in any way and those recipes I have tried have never made it out the door for public consumption; friends and family are all good but to those just outside those parameters – no way. Thanksgiving dinner was upon me and I planned to make two recipes. Pie is a Thanksgiving classic; but what is the Candy Coated Culinista to do when she is still so frightened of the pie pastry dough… I’m making a crustless pie. Perfecto.

Yield/Serving: 12
Prep Time: 20 min.
Cook Time: 55 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy
Ingredients
• ½ cup butter, at room temperature
• ½ cup granulated sugar
• 2 eggs
• ½ tsp sea salt
• 1 tsp vanilla extract
• 1 ¾ cup all-purpose flour
• ½ tsp baking powder
• 541 ml blueberry pie filling

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. Spray an 8” x 8” pan with non-stick spray and set aside.
3. Using your stand mixer on low speed, cream butter and sugar together for about 1 to 2 minutes.
4. Add eggs, salt and vanilla and mix until incorporated.
5. Add the flour and baking powder and mix until just combined.
6. Press half of the dough into the bottom of the pan and reserve half the dough for the topping.
7. Pour pie filling over the dough base.
8. Drop small pieces of the reserved dough over top of the blueberry filling.
9. Bake for 55 minutes or until golden brown.
10. Let cool.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
A lovely recipe that wasn’t too sweet from my dessert lovers. I’m starting to perfect the correct amount of sugar even though I have sugar in my diet normally. I will however enjoy it in my baked goods when I must and this wasn’t overly sweet in any way. Score.

Leave a Reply

