Cranberry Banana Carrot Breakfast Muffins

Cranberry Banana Carrot Breakfast Muffins - Candy Coated Culinista

Cranberry Banana Carrot Breakfast Muffins – Candy Coated Culinista

I’m always the person friends and family ask “do you have this” to which I reply yes give me a second. I was never a Girl Guide but I’m always prepared for any eventuality. This includes a day trip out of town I brought healthy snacks and well of course I brought too many and my bananas started to look a little too ripe for me by the end of our day. With over ripe bananas on hand I had no choice but to bake something and a new recipe at that.

Yield/Serving: 12
Prep Time: 10 min.
Cook Time: 20 to 25 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 1/3 cup of margarine, melted
• 1 egg
• 250g yoghurt
• ½ tsp vanilla extract
• 3 ripe bananas, mashed
• 2 carrots, peeled and shredded
• 1/3 cup frozen cranberries, roughly chopped
• 1 cup self-rising flour
• ¼ cups golden brown sugar
• Extra sugar to sprinkle

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
2. Place muffin cups in muffin trays and set aside.
3. Over low heat melt butter.
4. In a small bowl whisk together butter, eggs, yoghurt and vanilla extract.
5. In a medium sized bowl mash the bananas and add the shredded carrots and cranberries and set aside.
6. Using a large bowl whisk flour, sugar and add the bananas, carrots and cranberries.
7. Make a well in the center and add the wet ingredients and gently stir; but don’t overmix.
8. Spoon batter into muffin cups two-thirds full and sprinkle with extra sugar.
9. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until a cake tester inserted comes out clean.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
This was a delicious combination, I just found it too sweet for my liking and I have reduced the sugar amount in my recipe above. I combined two types of muffins I enjoy into one and it turned out well. The burst of cranberries with each bite was a great surprise splash of tart.

Comments

  1. Aw man I bet the cranberry/carrot combo is killer.

  2. Oh, do you know the muffin man, The muffin man, the muffin man …..
    I just ❤ ❤ ❤ muffins, so I your newest follower will try this one shortly

Leave a Reply

