Apple Rose Tarts & Rose Bud Tarts

Apple Rose Tarts - Candy Coated Culinista

Apple Rose Tarts – Candy Coated Culinista

I have been eyeing this recipe for about a year now and have wanted to make apple rose tarts so badly. I just didn’t trust my skill level; as I found this to be one of those what I like to call more “cheffy” desserts; which requires a certain amount of skill and finesse that this home cook probably doesn’t have yet. Well when my male co-worker came to work after promising to make these with 24 apple rose tarts in hand believe me it was on. I thought if he can do it I can surely, not because he was a male but because he isn’t a baker by any means. So if that’s the case then what am I afraid of and that weekend I spent a couple of hours squashing my fear.

Yield/Serving: 14-18
Prep Time:
1 hour
Cook Time: 30-35 minutes
Difficulty level is: Medium, time consuming

Ingredients
• 450g box of butter puff pastry , contains 2 rolls/packages
• 6 royal gala apples, thinly sliced
• Lemon juice
• 1 cup raspberry jam
• 1 tbsp cinnamon
• 1 tsp cardamon
• Raspberries, for centre of tart
• Confectioners’ sugar, to decorate

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 360°F.
2. Spray muffin tray with cooking spray.
3. Prepare butter puff pastry as instructed on the box.
4. Work on a marble surface if possible like a pastry board, or otherwise flour your surface.
5. Roll out the puff pastry until thinned and slices sheet into 6 stripes of pastries.
6. In a small bowl mix raspberry jam and cinnamon until combined.
7. Cut apples in half and core.
8. Using a mandoline thinly slice apples and place in a bowl with lemon juice and toss. (so apples don’t brown)
9. Using a microwave safe bowl cook apples for 40 seconds until apple are pliable.
10. Brush entire puff pastry with raspberry jam.
11. Make a dome shape with the apples on the top edge of the puff pastry; letting the apple peak overtop.
12. Overlap the apples until you reach the end of the puff pastry.
13. Turn up the bottom half of the puff pastry to seal the apples in.
14. Roll the pastry tight and place in the muffin tray.
15. Place raspberry in the centre.
16. Bake for 30 – 35 minutes or until puff pastry is a golden brown.

Tips
• Use one full stripe for a full sized tart and cut pastry strip in half for a mini sized tart.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
I have no idea what I was afraid of as these turned out so well and I even did a little recipe variations as I never like to copy a recipe exactly. The dough was flaky with the sweet and tart quality to the apple and raspberry. These went very fast for father’s day and the compliments came in just as fast. This took a lot of time and lots of love was put into this recipe for sure; but it was worth it in the end. People couldn’t believe I made this and frankly I couldn’t either.

Apple Rose Tarts - Candy Coated Culinista

Apple Rose Tarts – Candy Coated Culinista

Apple Rose Tarts - Candy Coated Culinista

Apple Rose Tarts – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

