Strawberry Shortcake with Vanilla Cream

Strawberry Shortcake with Vanilla Cream - Candy Coated Culinista

Strawberry Shortcake with Vanilla Cream – Candy Coated Culinista

Strawberry Shortcake has been one of those recipes I have always wanted to make and I have been a little apprehensive about making it for some reason. Once I tried this recipe I really have no idea why I shied away.

I haven’t been participating in the Chatelaine Cooking club since the Cranberry Clementine Cheesecake Challenge in November of 2015; but this challenge brought me back in and to my surprise I was selected as the winner see photo here. I was totally delighted as I had a few different taste testers; which were very happy for me as they tasted this amazing recipe and love my food styling.

Yield/Serving: 4
Prep Time: 5 min.
Cook Time: 14 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

From Chatelaine (Batched down)

Ingredients
Shortcake

• 1 cup all-purpose flour
• 1 tbsp granulated sugar
• 1 ½ tsp baking powder
• 1/8 tsp sea salt
• Lemon zest, from one lemon
• ¼ cup cold unsalted butter, cut into small cubes
• 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream, plus 3 tbsp
• 1 tbsp heavy whipping cream for brushing
• 1 tsp coarse sugar
• 250g strawberries sliced
Vanilla Whipped Cream
• ½ vanilla bean
• ½ cup heavy whipping cream
• 1 tbsp granulated sugar

Assembly
Shortcake
1. Preheat oven to 425°F.
2. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
3. Using a large bowl stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and lemon zest until blended.
4. Incorporate the butter using your finger, until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
5. Slowly add in the heavy cream, until the dough can form a ball.
6. Slightly press down the dough on a lightly floured surface and cut into four wedges.
7. Gently form each wedge into a ball and place on sheet 1” apart.
8. Brush the tops of the biscuits with cream and sprinkle with sugar.
9. Bake for 12-14 min. or until the tops are a golden brown.
10. Let cool on rack.
Vanilla Whipped Cream
1. Split vanilla bean down the middle and scrape out the vanilla seeds.
2. Using an electric mixer with the whisk attachment add in the vanilla seeds and sugar and whip cream on medium until stiff peaks are formed.

Assembly
1. Once cooled cut shortcakes in half.
2. Place some jumbleberry jam on the plate.
3. Place the bottom of the shortcake and top with whipped cream.
4. Add strawberries on top followed by more whipped cream.
5. Place the top portion of the biscuit.
6. Garnish with strawberries and serve

Tips
• Serve with jumbleberry jam or strawberry jam.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
These were a big hit with my tasters. One reviewer even showed me a clean plate with the remnants of jam. Another requested even more jam even though I gave a healthy helping; but they are Welsh born and this reminded them of scones, jam & clotted cream. I loved this so much I wanted to make another batch right away and wished I hadn’t batched down the recipe. The addition of the lemon zest to the batter added a slight punch and brightness not to mention nothing beats fresh homemade whipped cream. I haven’t purchased canned whipped cream in years now.

Strawberry Shortcake with Vanilla Cream - Candy Coated Culinista

Strawberry Shortcake with Vanilla Cream – Candy Coated Culinista

Strawberry Shortcake with Vanilla Cream - Candy Coated Culinista

Strawberry Shortcake with Vanilla Cream – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

