Sautéed Fiddleheads

Sautéed Fiddleheads - Candy Coated Culinista

Sautéed Fiddleheads – Candy Coated Culinista


For a few years now I have been intrigued and have been searching for fiddleheads – this peculiar looking green thing that resembles a koru or young fern to me. There are only two places I could think of in Toronto that would for sure carry these; Ever Green Brickworks and St. Lawrence Market. On my first stop to St. Lawrence market I found it and was very happy I wouldn’t have to continue on my journey.
At $7.99/lb these are an expensive vegetable and is it worth its cost I’m not sure really ???

Yield/Serving: 2
Prep Time: 5 min.
Cook Time: 10 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
• 4 cloves garlic, diced
• 1/3 small onion, diced
• 1lb fiddleheads
• Sea salt, to taste
• Black pepper, to taste
• ½ lemon, freshly squeezed

Assembly
1. Heat a frying pan over medium-high heat and add olive oil.
2. Add garlic and onion and fry.
3. Add in cleaned fiddleheads along with salt and pepper and continue to cook for 2 minutes.
4. Finally squeeze fresh lemon and cook for another 2 minutes and serve.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
Fiddleheads have antioxidants and are a source of omega-3, omega-6 fatty acids and are also high in fibre. I found them extremely hard to clean to my liking with all those little leaves attached that I knew hold dirt. I wanted to highlight but not overpower the fiddleheads; but it still tasted like I was just eating something straight from the ground or off a tree. The fiddleheads itself taste like asparagus; but with a less dynamic flavour. There is some hype behind these and I find them to be quite overrated as they lack flavor even with my additions.

Fresh Fiddleheads - Candy Coated Culinista

Fresh Fiddleheads – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

