Food Diaries: Jamie’s Italian

Jamie's Italian - Candy Coated Culinista

Jamie’s Italian – Candy Coated Culinista

Location: 3401 Dufferin St.; Toronto, Ontario, M6A 2T9 (Yorkdale Mall)
Phone Number: 416-238-7450

Way back on October 19th 2012 I was sitting in Massey Hall listening to my first Cooking inspiration Jamie Oliver speak (see blog post). I left with very high hopes that one day a restaurant of his would make it to Canada; as he did say when asked by another fan that I’m paraphrasing of course “that if I could bring one of my restaurants to Canada it would be Jamie’s Italian as it would work best here; because of its regimented menu that could be moved to a Canadian market easily.” Well it’s been 3 years 1 month and 19 days and he stuck to his word. Jamie’s Italian is now open in Yorkdale Mall and the moment reservations were up I knew I was going to make this my birthday meal in January and I excitedly made reservations.

For my birthday dinner I had: Antipasti – Garlic Bread With oozy garlic & herb butter; Pasta – Pasta Vongole Tagliolini -Steamed sweet clams with garlic, chilli, white wine, capers, parsley & lemon; Main – Burger Italiano Chargrilled beef burger with melted fontina cheese, crispy schiacciata piccante, gherkins, chilli, crispy fried onions& salsa rosso crudo; Non-Alcoholic Cocktail – Refresher Fresh lemon juice, elderflower cordial & cranberry juice, topped with lemonade.

The food was great and if you love garlic and chillis; which is Jamie’s thing then this is your menu. I found the pasty spicy of course; but it was tasty and the garlic bread was butter goodness. The server quipped to be careful that those were pickles on the burger but chilli’s as another customer didn’t realize and mistook them for pickles. Yiikes. . This is one the few restaurants where I can say the staff from beginning to end were super friendly and knowledgeable. Also they were using a POS system that was on an electronic device much like an Ipad which made the whole experience sleek, cool and fast. Two can dine for about 60$ including dessert

The spirit of the menu is those things I attribute to Jamie and even Gennaro one of his mentors. His food has always been simple easy and uncomplicated; so if you’re expecting something out of this world then you should try another chef’s restaurants. However; if you want rustic, flavourful food that’s something mama would make for you then this is a must visit for you.

Overall the restaurant will fit in nicely with all the other casual dining franchises and restaurants across Toronto, and being located in Yorkdale mall makes it easily accessible throughout the G.T.A. Just make sure to make a reservation or be ready to wait upwards or 45 minutes for a table until the new shine of the first Jamie Oliver restaurant in Canada wears off. I already want to come back for the burger sans chilli’s of course and taste those fries and maybe a dessert next time around.

Jamie's Italian - Candy Coated Culinista

Jamie’s Italian – Candy Coated Culinista

Jamie's Italian - Candy Coated Culinista

Jamie’s Italian – Candy Coated Culinista

Comments

  1. I was wondering what it was like, one opened in Brisbane just before we left Australia and we had been a couple of times. I loved it! I found it very reasonably priced and simple yet yummy food. My favourite thing on the menu in Brisbane was one of the starters with mushrooms, thyme and cheese baked on a thin crisp bread in an oven-proof dish. I just had a quick look on the Toronto menu and it looks like they have something similar under a different name … I’m in! I miss that dish.

    • I just love how Jamie is and what he’s trying to do for food in school and getting people to eat healthier and understand where there food comes from as such. I will always support him. Visit for sure. The staff and service is great. Funny enough today is the 17th anni of his first episode of Naked Chef.

Leave a Reply

