Roasted Red Pepper Soup

Creamy Roasted Red Pepper Soup - Candy Coated Culinista

Creamy Roasted Red Pepper Soup – Candy Coated Culinista

When a cold-snap hits in March in the form of a freak ice-storm in Toronto this soup will keep you warm.

Prep Time: 20 min.
Cook Time: 50 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 7 large red bell peppers
• 6 garlic cloves, peeled but whole
• 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
• 1 large yellow onion, roughly chopped
• 2 tbsp tomato paste
• 1 tsp ground cumin
• 1 tsp paprika
• 1 tsp sea salt
• 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
• 900ml vegetable stock

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 450°F.
2. Cut peppers in half and lay cut side down on a baking sheet.
3. Add garlic cloves and bake until blackened, about 20 minutes.
4. Remove peppers from pan and place in a bowl and cover with cling wrap in a bowl to steam.
5. Let peppers steam for 10 minutes of until cool to the touch and peel skin.
6. In a Dutch oven warm extra virgin olive oil, along with onions and garlic and sauté for 5 minutes or until translucent.
7. Add tomato paste, cumin, paprika, sea salt, cayenne pepper and stir for 1 minute.
8. Add vegetable stock, roasted peppers and using an immersion blender, blend the ingredients.
9. Let simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
10. Serve.

Tips
• Serve with biscuits.
• Freeze a portion for a later date.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
This was my first time making red pepper soup; which surprised some co-workers as they were enticed by the smell of my lunch. The comments on the smell of my soup alone let me know I was on the right track. The smell reminded me of an Italian kitchen. I don’t know if that is a correct description; but this is what I envision a nonna’s kitchen to smell like.

Comments

  1. That looks so good! I love red pepper soup but I can no longer eat it. I’m finding as I get older I can no longer tolerate a lot of peppers or tomatoes or I end up with hideous heartburn. Looks so delicious though!

Leave a Reply

