Chef’s Plate Review

Chicken Carbonara - Chef's Plate - Candy Coated Culinista

Chicken Carbonara – Chef’s Plate – Candy Coated Culinista

Chef’s Plate promises a better way to cook with farm fresh, premium cuts and healthy & nutritious meals for you and your family. Each week a new set of recipes are available for your choosing and then the fresh pre-portioned ingredients are delivered to your door for you to prepare.

For my first venture in Chef’s Plate is chose steak and roasted tarragon potatoes with a pink peppercorn sauce and mixed green salad and chicken carbonara with fresh linguine pasta in a creamy parmesan sauce. The box even came with some Valentine’s Day treats and a card which was the perfect added touch for those celebrating.

Plans run for a two person plan starting at 49.80/week for 2 meals to $68.70/week for 3 meals; and a four person plan is $87.60/week for 2 meals. There is flexibility with your subscription that you can suspend your deliveries at anytime if you want to take a break; which I like or there isn’t anything on the menu you like that week.

The steak dish was a medium difficulty with 30 min prep time and 470 calories per serving. I would make this recipe again on my own as I never had tarragon before and this was such a simple but appealing dish. The flat iron steak was a great cut and with the addition of the pink peppercorn sauce was simple yet flavourful. I would however season it more than directed and add my usual steak spice medley. The portions on this meal were rather small though and I’m not a big girl or over-eat and I found the portion for two to be ideal for just one person.

The chicken carbonara had a 15 min of prep time with 750 calories per serving and a hard difficulty level; which it lived up to. The recipe couldn’t have been easier until it came to the carbonana sauce portion. My sauce came out too thick and was eggy, which I had to wonder why as I followed the directions and I know the basis of making cream sauces. I checked on social media and I looked at some others photos of the chicken carb and there sauce was also thick and eggy looking; so it’s something in that recipe I gather. The portion size for this meal was huge. This could easily serve 3 people or two very hungry people. This recipe directed to season 3 different parts which I found to be too much.

The directions were almost fail proof which would make this a great idea for those people who aren’t good cooks or just never know where to start. The instructions come on a coloured cardstock paper; with step by step directions and photos for each step. This is one if the few times I followed these recipes exactly without adding anything. I had to use restraint in this aspect which was new as I always go off recipe.

Overall this is a great meal delivery box with delicious simple healthy options and with vegetarian, gluten-free and dairy-free selections each week. I would try this again when two items on the menu peak my interest. This is also a great way to try a new dish you’ve always wanted to; but didn’t want to source the ingredients or knew you would have to buy much and have leftovers on a dish you may not end up enjoying. The food is delivered in a refrigerated box with ice pack to help food stay fresh until you arrive home. This box has quality ingredients the, price is reasonable; but I can personally source these ingredients for cheaper. That being said this is a great box for super busy people, or people who don’t enjoy sourcing ingredients … I’m a hesitant fan for the moment.

Flank Steak & Tarragon Potatoes - Candy Coated Culinista

Flank Steak & Tarragon Potatoes – Candy Coated Culinista

Chef's Plate Produce - Candy Coated Culinista

Chef’s Plate Produce – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

