Dia de Muertos: Spiked Mexican Hot Chocolate

Spiked Mexican Hot Chocolate - Candy Coated Culinista

Spiked Mexican Hot Chocolate – Candy Coated Culinista

Dia de Muertos or Day of the Dead is a Mexican holiday celebrated to remember your friends and family who have passed on. Now I don’t need a special day to remember my mom or any of my loved ones who have gone on to a better place; but I do like the idea of this day as people celebrate the lives that the dead lived and it’s not about grieving. I have been looking for Mexican chocolate for over a year now, but I wasn’t going to make a trip or purposefully look for a Mexican grocery store in Toronto. I was shopping in the Detox Market and found Mexican Chocolate here of all places and that means I can make my spiked Mexican hot chocolate.

Yield/Serving: 2
Prep Time: 5 min.
Cook Time: 10 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
Hot Chocolate
• 3 cups 2% milk
• 2/3 oz tequila
• Chipotle chocolate bar, chopped into pieces
• 2 tbsp Dutch-processed Cocoa powder
Whipped Topping
• 1/2 cup heavy cream
• Cinnamon, garnish
• Nutmeg, garnish
• Cayenne pepper, garnish
• Shaved chocolate, garnish
• 2 cinnamon stick, garnish

Assembly
Hot Chocolate
1. In a small saucepan heat up the milk over medium heat.
2. Whisk in the tequila and chocolate pieces and combine until melted and frothy.
Whipped Topping
3. Using an electric mixer, or by hand whip heavy cream.
4. Top with whipped cream and grate cinnamon, nutmeg, cayenne pepper, chipotle chocolate and put a cinnamon stick in.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
This had some heat thanks to the chipotle and cayenne on my lips which I enjoyed. On a cold night curled up watching a movie this is a great a different spin on a traditional hot chocolate.

Leave a Reply

