Food Diaries: Front Street Foods

Frisco Fries - Candy Coated Culinista

Frisco Fries – Candy Coated Culinista

Location: Union Station (65 Front Street West, Toronto, Ontario (Between Bay St. & York St.)
Hours: July 6 – September 27, 2015- Monday – Friday: 7am – 9pm, Saturday: 11am – 9pm, Sunday: 11am – 6:30 pm

This summer the newly renovated Union station has been home to Front Street Foods – a culinary market showcasing some of the best foods from chefs, restaurants, food entrepreneurs offering delectable edibles. I have walked by and through numerous times now and finally thought I should actually try something. There are plenty of seats and live music is played at lunch time to make your visit more welcoming.
After tasting the Garlic Snow Crab Fries with Garlic Aioli from Jake’s Lobster at the CNE I found out that Fresh off the Boat also offered a dish called Frisco Fries. Now to me these two dishes looked exactly the same visually and the price was the same at $10.

This review is a little hard for me as I always find the good in a bad situation at least in one aspect; but my review of these fries were they were just ok. I went just before the lunch rush 11:30am on a Friday and upon receipt of my Frisco Fries I could see there were less whole pieces of crab; but if it still taste good that’s fine and I’d still be happy. Upon consumption I found the fries to not be seasoned and my order was all the small end fries (like the bottom of a batch) I’m not sure if they use smaller fries but in any event all those tiny fries just wouldn’t make sense. The fries as a whole were definitely greasier and I didn’t want to finish it my order. As for the garlic aioli; it was good but there wasn’t enough dill also. For the $10 the portion was bigger but the ratio of crab to fries was off in my opinion.

Now all this being said I think I will visit the brick and motar store and maybe try the fries again and order something else because I always give people and things a second try probably to my detriment but that’s just who I am. I do have my eye on their Mediterranean Shrimp Sandwich or the FU-Schnicken and i’d really like to give those a try.

Other vendors here are: Mad Mexican, CC On front, Caplansky’s, Helluva Falafel, Kupfert & Kim, Little Fin, Republica Sandwhiches, Chocosol, Bacon nation, Come and Get It, Drink Inc., Loaded Pierogi, Holy Chuck burger, Pancho’s Bakery, Hula Girl Espresso, Jedd’s Frozen Custard, Jamie’s Cracked Corn, Station Cold Brew Co., Pekoe Kombucha Bar, Hotbunzz Street Cusinine, Uncle Tetsu, The Mighty Cob, Miche Bakery (July/ August Only), YOLO T.O. (July/ August Only), Toben Food By Design (July/ August Only), Cava Sur (July/ August Only), Greenhouse Juice Co. (July/ August Only), Small Batch Co. (July/ August Only), Wanna Banana (July/ August Only), Fred’s Bread, Eative, Nisos Importing

Fresh Off The Boat - Candy Coated Culinista

Fresh Off The Boat – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

