Aprium-Pluot Jam & First Annual Toronto Food & Wine Festival 2015 Giveaway

Aprium-Pluot Jam - Candy Coated Culinista

Aprium-Pluot Jam – Candy Coated Culinista

Toronto Food & Wine 2015

Toronto Food & Wine 2015

There’s nothing like a fast and fresh summer jam, especially when it’s using those interesting fruits you only see in the summer for such a short period of time; that if you blink you’ve missed the whole season entirely. I have become a huge fan of Apriums and Pluots since I stumbled upon this frit over a year ago. Coming across those never seen produce before always reminds me of all the amazing events around Toronto that give me a chance to find interesting and new ways to incorporate those new produce into your culinary repertoire.

The First Annual Toronto Food & Wine Festival 2015 will be held September 18 – 20 2015 at the Evergreen Brick Works and I can’t wait to enjoy another Toronto food festival. They never disappoint me and I always find something to take home with me. Some of my favourite chefs that I have met like Curtis Stone – such a charismatic, charming and modest chef and fellow Canadian chef Chuck Hughes a chef I can met time and time again; I’m on my 3rd encounter already and I can say I never tire of seeing Chuck. He is so engaging, personable and willing to encourage the up and coming young chefs. I also can’t forget other Canadians like Roger Mooking & Mark McEwen, who have so much passion and love they just can’t be ignored; along with Tyler Florence a chef I can now say I am more than just a casual fan of ever since I saw him at the Delicious Food Show I have been following him with much zeal. I can’t wait to see them all and of course learn all I can in those demos and workshops.

Something interesting I can’t wait to see is the Taste Canada Cooks the Books competition – a competition after my own heart; as how many times have us cooks followed a cookbook recipes exactly and yet the recipe looks nothing like the picture included. In this competition all of these recipes will be prepared on stage by culinary students with the Canadian cookbook author on stage. Reproduction will be key for the winner.

I can’t forget about the sampling, sipping and savouring from the 130 vendors and participants. I hope to find a few new local vendors to add to my list and new products that I can incorporate into my culinary repertoire.

The Toronto Food & Wine Festival 2015 will be held at Evergreen Brick Work in Toronto. The Evergreen Brick Works is a community environmental centre that inspires visitors to live a well-rounded life more sustainable. I have been to there farmer’s markets on the weekends and have found such amazing fresh and locally grown produce along with organic & environmentally friendly products. This festival is definitely a must for any home chef, aspiring chef or culinary student or just any foodie. I guarantee you will leave with a few new techniques under your belt and some interesting food combinations or new foods you’ve never seen before.

If you live in the Toronto Area or can find your way down to Toronto and you’d like a chance to go to the The First Annual Toronto Food & Wine Festival 2015 leave a comment in the comments section of this post or send me an email and you will be entered in for a chance to win a pair of tickets to experience this one of a kind event. Contest closes on August 21st 2015 at 11:59 pm.

Here is my quintessential quick summer jam recipe I know you’ll enjoy.

Yield/Serving: 370 ml
Prep Time: 5 min.
Cook Time: about 20 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 2 pluots, cut in pieces and pitted
• 2 apriums, cut in pieces and pitted
• ½ cup granulated sugar
• ½ tsp pure vanilla extract
• 2 tbsp chia seeds

Assembly
1. Prep the pluots and apriums and pour into a small saucepan over medium-high heat and allow to break down.
2. Add in sugar and allow to boil stirring frequently.
3. Add in chia seeds and vanilla extract and continue to stir.
4. Reduce to low heat and allow jam to thicken up.
5. Pour into mason jar and let cool to room temperature.
6. Store in refrigerator.

Tips
• Jam will keep for up to two weeks.
• Use any type of sweetener or no sweetener at all if you like.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
Homemade jam couldn’t be any easier to make. I liked that I used two new fruits that I have fallen in love with over the last year. My home is full of these fruits for about a month until they go missing again for another year. I try my best to eat as much as possible even though they are on the pricy side; as it’s only for a month or so and is so worth it in my eyes. Mono meals are favorite summer world I must say what’s so wrong with eating a bushel of apriums all for yourself right!

TFW Tastings

TFW Tastings

Roger Mooking

Roger Mooking

Gail Simmons

Gail Simmons

Chuck Hughes

Chuck Hughes

TFW Tastings

TFW Tastings

Curtis Stone

Curtis Stone

TFW Tastings

TFW Tastings

Mark McEwan

Mark McEwan

Tyler Florence

Tyler Florence

Comments

  1. Great site you have here – I especially love your Local Quest section! I love a chance to attend this great event and meet some great chefs!

    cheung.maggie39@yahoo.ca

  2. Yum! That sounds delish! My fingers are crossed!!!!

  3. Adrienne De La Rosa says:

    It’s always a fun event! Thanks for the contest 🙂

  4. Your jam recipe sounds delish. I made pear sauce a few years ago and found the same thing. It was so simple to make. Delicious and naturally sweet – and canning was dead easy. Why was I so worried?

  5. I love making jam! Especially with delicious summer fruit! It brings back a mouthful of summery flavour, at any time of year! Thanks for the great contest! I’d love to win a pair of tickets to the Toronto Food & Wine Festival! 😀

  6. Marta cichocka says:

    I have never been and would love to win tickets

  7. This sounds incredible!!! Can you freeze the jam at all? Say I know I wouldn’t be able to get through all of it in two weeks?

  8. That sounds so yummy, I’m going to give it a try next weekend!

  9. Sounds like a great Food & Wine Festival! Thanks for the chance to win a pair of tickets.

Leave a Reply

