Blueberry Poppy Seed Snacking Cake

Blueberry Poppy Seed Snacking Cake - Candy Coated Culinista

Blueberry Poppy Seed Snacking Cake – Candy Coated Culinista

I never thought I would say this but I am officially a cake lover. Just in the last year I have realized I really enjoy cake and I mean all types (even the chocolate and red velvet I try to stay away from because I don’t like chocolate and cream cheese on cakes; they are slowly creeping into my dessert selections) and I’m eating more of my creations instead of giving them all away. I must say for a newly self proclaimed cake lover a breakfast cake is the way to go for me.

Yield/Serving: 8 loafs and one mini cake
Prep Time: 20 min.
Cook Time: 70 min. for me
Difficulty level is: Easy

Slightly altered from Seven Spoons

Ingredients
• 2 cups all-purpose flour
• 2 tbsp poppy seeds
• 1 tsp sea salt
• 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
• 1 ¼ cups granulated sugar, plus extra for sprinkling
• 4 eggs, at room temperature
• Seeds scraped from a vanilla bean, or 2 tsp vanilla extract
• 2 tbsp crème fraiche or sour cream or yoghurt
• Juice and lemon zest from one whole lemon
• 1 cup blueberries, frozen or fresh

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 300°F with a rack in the middle of the oven.
2. Butter or spray pan with non-stick spray.
3. In a large bowl whisk flour, seeds and sea salt and set aside.
4. Using a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar for 8 minutes on medium-high, scraping regularly. (or use a spatula edged paddle attachment)
5. Reduce the speed to medium and add the eggs one at a time.
6. Add the vanilla.
7. On low speed add half the flour, milk, lemon juice and zest, and the last of the flour and don’t overmix.
8. Fold in the blueberries by hand.
9. Pour mixture into prepared pan, smooth the top and sprinkle with granulated sugar.
10. Bake for 80 to 90 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through until a cake tester inserted comes out clean.
11. Transfer cake to a wire rack to cool for 30 minutes in the pan.
12. Unmold and let cool completely.

Tips
• I used milk instead of crème fraiche or sour cream.
• Cake can be kept for 4 days covered or under a cake dome.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
I used milk as I had no intention of wasting money on a container of crème fraiche when the recipe only requires 2 tbsp. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and I will say I questioned creaming the butter for 8 minutes as that seemed to be very long time; also I have never done this in the past, but the batter turned out amazingly. I have been enjoying my snacking cake for breakfast as fruit and poppy seeds make perfect sense for breakfast. My taste testers said this had the right amount of sweetness; granted a few were like oh blueberry and poppy seeds “what no chocolate” I said here’s a healthy cake for once. I think next time I will add more lemon as I like the brightness lemon adds. This recipe reminds me a lot of my Blueberry Yogurt Cake with Vanilla Glaze, which is probably why I gravitated to this recipe in the first place. I will be making this again and again.

Blueberry Poppy Seed Snacking Cake - Candy Coated Culinista

Blueberry Poppy Seed Snacking Cake – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

