Bouchon Bakery Chocolate Chunk and Chip Cookies

Bouchon Bakery Chocolate Chip & Chunk Cookies - Candy Coated Culinista

Bouchon Bakery Chocolate Chip & Chunk Cookies – Candy Coated Culinista

I pretty much have my own chocolate cookie recipe squared away, but it doesn’t mean I don’t mind trying others recipes. Sometimes other chefs and home chefs alike put in different ingredients that I wouldn’t think of and as I am always striving to learn and grow I gave this recipe a try.

From Bouchon bakery – Sebastien Rouxel & Thomas Keller

Yield/Serving: 12 cookies
Prep Time: 20 min.
Cook Time: 16 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 238 grams all-purpose flour
• ½ tsp baking soda
• 1 tsp salt
• 134 grams dark brown sugar
• 1 3/4 tsp unsulfured blackstrap molasses
• 104 g sugar
• 167 grams unsalted butter, room temperature
• 2/3 cup bittersweet (70-72%) chocolate chunks
• 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Assembly
1. Whisk together flour, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl.
2. Whisk together the brown sugar, molasses and granulated sugar breaking up any lumps.
3. Using a mixer with the paddle attachment cream the butter until it holds a peak when the paddle is lifted, and add in the sugar mixture and mix for 3 to 4 minutes on medium speed until fluffy. Don’t forget to scrape the sides of the bowl.
4. On low-speed add in the eggs and mix for 15-30 seconds. Don’t overmix or the cookies will spread out too much and scrape the sides of the bowl.
5. Add in half the dry ingredients and mix for 15-30 seconds and then add the remaining dry ingredients until just combined.
6. Cover with saran wrap and chill the dough for 30 minutes.
7. Preheat oven to 325°F and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
8. Divide the dough into 12 equal portions and place of the cookie sheets leaving space for spreading.
9. Bake for 16 minutes, until golden brown.
10. Let cool for five minutes on the pan and then transfer to a wire cooling rack.
11. Serve

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
This was one of the few recipes I have done where a scale was required, but I learned Bouchon Bakery is all about exact measurement with certain ingredients. To be honest, I was a little underwhelmed with this recipe, as it was a Thomas Keller recipe and people rave about him I was expecting something out of this world. I personally like my cookies better as these weren’t anything special. This was a comment I heard from my testers. I will say though that these were the roundest cookies I’ve ever made. I was worried that the molasses was creating too much of a puddle in the oven, but they turned out perfectly round and cooked. I would use this as a base recipe just for the roundness of the cookie factor and put my spin on it to ramp up the flavour.

Bouchon Bakery Chocolate Chip & Chunk Cookies - Candy Coated Culinista

Bouchon Bakery Chocolate Chip & Chunk Cookies – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

