Macarons with Vanilla Buttercream

Macarons with Vanilla Buttercream - Candy Coated Culinista

Macarons with Vanilla Buttercream – Candy Coated Culinista

About sixteen months ago I made my most favourite treat macarons for the first time and the result were less than favourable in my eyes, sure they looked like macs, but they had this pebbled texture. I consider myself a macaron connoisseur as I know way too much about macs and have tasted then all around Toronto and compare and take notes at each visit (yes I have a small addiction lol). After all this time my piping skills have improved tremendously and yet I still can’t make a beautiful macaron.

Yield/Serving: 40
Prep Time: 20 min.
Cook Time: 14 min.
Difficulty level is: Technical

From: Eat Live Travel Write

Ingredients
Macaron
• 4oz (115g) ground almonds
• 8oz (230g) confectioners’ sugar
• 5oz (144g) egg whites, at room temperature
• 2.5oz (72g) granulated sugar
• 2 tsp food colouring powder
Buttercream Frosting
• ½ cup butter, room temperature
• 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
• 1 tbsp milk
• 1 tsp vanilla extract

Assembly
Macaron
1. Ensure the egg whites are at room temperature.
2. Line two baking sheet with parchment paper.
3. Prepare a piping bag using the circular tip and set aside.
4. Combine almond flour and confectioners’ sugar in a food processor and pulse about 10 times for a few seconds, until combined. Using a fine sieve sift ingredients into a large bowl twice.
5. Using an electric mixer beat the egg whites and sugar at a low speed (Kitchen Aid 4) for two minutes, medium speeds (Kitchen Aid 6) for two minutes, and high speed (Kitchen Aid 8) for two minutes.
6. The egg whites will be large mass at this point and now add the coloured powder and mix for one minute at the highest speed (Kitchen Aid 10).
7. Add in the dry ingredients and fold the mixture while pressing the mixture against the sides of the bowl for about forty passes (counting single strokes) **Stop every couple strokes after twenty-five passes to check the consistency. It should be flowing in ribbons off the spatula**
8. Fill the piping bag and pipe you macarons.
9. Ensure to pipe at an angle to the baking sheet about 3cm in diameter as they will spread while baking. (Make sure to quickly remove the tip when piping making a comma shape.)
10. Bang the tray four times on the countertop to remove any air bubbles.
11. Let the macarons rest for thirty minutes.
12. Pre-heat oven to 300°F.
13. Bake for 16-18 minutes and turn tray around halfway through.
14. Remove from oven and let sit for a few minutes and then remove parchment paper from the tray and place on a wire rack to cool completely.
15. Remove from the parchment paper.
16. Pair up the macarons with similar shaped shells.
17. Once completely cooled pipe the buttercream filling.
18. Best enjoyed 24 hours after filling.
Buttercream Frosting
1. In a medium-sized bowl, cream together the butter until smooth
2. Slowly add in the confectioners’ sugar until combined.
3. Stir in the milk and vanilla extract until the frosting consistency is achieved.
4. Pour into a piping bag and decorate once cupcakes have cooled.

Tips
• I used Gel food colouring as I only have gel or the regular food colouring on hand.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
Looking at my macarons I can tell that even though my cupcake piping skills are getting better, I am still having a hard time piping macarons and the batter kept flowing out of the bag as I tried to pipe. The skin and foot on most of my macs weren’t terrible but they all had tails on the tops as I lack that piping finesse and I believe I almost didn’t properly slam the baking sheets enough to remove all the air bubbles even though I thought I had. I made two batches one using the mastard macaron mat again and one by hand. Once again the mat made more circular macs but I the insides were hollow yet when I piped by hand the macs were cooked through properly but non circular and started to brown a tad more on the edges. I also have tails showing on top as my comma technique is also lacking. This recipe is said to virtually no-fail; but I find making these at home too hard and time-consuming. Even though I find them overpriced I will gladly pay whatever the price until I can achieve a proper homemade macaron.

As for the taste these actually tasted like the store bought they are just sadly misshapen with some hollowness in some. The shells we still hard to the touch yet crumbled when bitten into, which are the characteristics you need to look for in a macaron. I will next time add less filling as the buttercream oozed out a little too much for my liking.

I think I will give this one more try or two until my almond flour runs out and just make smaller batches. If by then I still haven’t succeeded I will take a macaron making class to see where I am going wrong. I will be ditching my mastard macaron mat and using my silpat.

Now I know I am being a little overly critical of myself as this is my second attempt and they tasted great and looked half decent, but the perfectionist in me is just saying not good at all and when I look at my picture of these odd, deficient and ill-formed macs I just want to sigh and shake my head.

Macarons with Vanilla Buttercream - Candy Coated Culinista

Macarons with Vanilla Buttercream – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

