Easter Whopper Robin Eggs & Butterscotch Cookies

Easter Whopper Robin Eggs & Butterscotch Cookies - Candy Coated Culinista

Easter Whopper Robin Eggs & Butterscotch Cookies – Candy Coated Culinista

Easter is one of my favourite times of the year. As a candy lover this is a holiday where there is the most non-chocolate candies available and I even enjoy the chocolate covered malted candy.

Yield/Serving: Approx. 12 cookies
Prep Time: 10 min.
Cook Time: 8-10 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• ¾ cup butter, at room temperature
• ¾ cup light brown sugar
• ¼ cup granulated sugar
• 1 large egg
• 2 tsp vanilla extract
• 2 tsp cornstarch
• 1 tsp baking soda
• 1 ¼ cups all purpose flour
• ¾ cup pastry flour
• ½ cup or Whoppers Robin Eggs Malted Milk candy, crushed
• ¼ cup butterscotch chips

Assembly
1. Pre-heat oven to 350°F.
2. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
3. Using a stand mixer, cream butter and sugars until fluffy.
4. Add in the egg and vanilla until combined.
5. Add in cornstarch and baking soda until combined.
6. Slowly add in the flour.
7. Mix in the crushed Robin Eggs Whoppers and butterscotch chips.
8. Roll a tablespoon sized ball of dough onto the baking sheet.
9. Bake for 8 – 10 minutes.
10. Let cool on a baking sheet for 5 minutes.
11. Transfer to wire rack.

Tips
• These cookies stayed soft for four days later and maybe longer if they weren’t all gone already.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
I loved how these cookies turned out and I have a new favourite cookie. I have loved Ovaltine since my childhood and this soft cookie with the crunch of the whoppers and the candy shell was amazing. These cookies look and taste how I like my cookies: flat, thin, round and equally sized. I was questioning the addition of cornstarch in the recipe I saw but I decided to go with it and then alter the recipe. I found the cookie to be lighter and airier, however I am not sure if this is attributed to the cornstarch or not. This is also a great new base and I will add whatever I want to this recipe. Mr. C. Liked these so much he wouldn’t let them go to his work place and he graciously allowed me (the baker) to have three cookies from the batch lol.

Leave a Reply

