Sweet Dutch Baby

Sweet Dutch Baby - Candy Coated Culinista

Sweet Dutch Baby – Candy Coated Culinista

This sweet popover eggy pancake also known as a German pancake can be easy turn from a breakfast treat to a savory meal much like a crepe. Just a few simple quality ingredients and you have an absolutely magical treat. This was apart of the Chatelaine Cooking Club see my picture here in the gallery of participants.

Yield/Serving: 2-4
Prep Time: 5 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

From Chatelaine (Altered the cooking time though)

Ingredients
• ¼ cup butter
• 4 eggs
• 2/3 cups 2% milk
• ½ cup all-purpose flour
• ¼ cup tsp granulated sugar
• ½ tsp vanilla extract
• 1/4 tsp sea salt
• Confectioners’ sugar
• Blueberries
• Blackberries
• Raspberries
• kiwi

Assembly
1. Over medium heat melt butter in a 12” cast iron skillet.
2. Pre-heat oven to 400°F.
3. Using a large bowl whisk eggs and milk until uniform in colour.
4. Add in flour, sugar, vanilla and salt and whisk until well combined.
5. Pour batter into the hot skillet.
6. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.
7. Dust with confectioners’ sugar and add fruit as desired.
8. Serve immediately.

Tips
• Watch closely in the last 5 minutes so it doesn’t burn.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
This tasted like an eggy pancake to me and it was just okay. I did like all the fresh fruit and confectioners’ sugar on top, but still it was just okay for me. I turned out well and I had no issues with the recipe, I wanted a little more fluffiness to it. I alerted the cooking time by turning the temperature down a little and extended as baking at 475°F for 9 to 11 minutes it only going to guarantee me fire alarm to go off and I wasn’t in the mood for that in the morning. I did notice the Dutch baby deflated quite fast much like a soufflé.

Leave a Reply

