Coconut Pear Banana Bread

Coconut Pear Banana Bread - Candy Coated Culinista

Coconut Pear Banana Bread – Candy Coated Culinista

Mr. C. and myself have been a little under the weather lately and that means we are not eating our fresh produce fast enough. The bananas were black at this point and that meant I needed to make some banana bread.

Yield/Serving: 8
Prep Time: 30 minutes
Cooking Time: 1 hour & 20 minutes
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• Non-stick cooking spray
• 8 tbsp unsalted butter, softened
• ¾ cup golden brown sugar
• 2 eggs
• 2 cups all-purpose flour
• ¾ cup self-rising flour
• 1 tsp baking soda
• 2/3 cup vanilla rice milk
• 4 medium very ripe bananas, peeled and mashed
• 1 bosc pear, peeled and mashed
• 1 cup shredded coconut
• ½ tbsp coconut extract
• 1 yellow banana to decorate

Assembly/Method
1. Preheat oven to 350°F
2. Spray loaf pan with cooking spray.
3. Cream the butter and sugar together in an electric mixer until smooth.
4. Add one egg and beat in until it is well combined, then add the second egg and continue to beat.
5. Sift in half the flour with baking soda and mix well.
6. Add the rice milk and the remaining flour.
7. Fold in the mashed bananas, pear and shredded coconut into the batter along with the coconut extract.
8. Pour into greased loaf pan.
9. Slice the yellow banana and place over bread dough in the loaf pan.
10. Bake for 80 minutes or until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean.
11. Let cool for 20 minutes and then take out of pan.
12. Cut into thick slices and serve.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
I received some resistance when I said I wasn’t sure what I was going to add to the banana bread, as I can never keep a recipe simple. All Mr. C. wanted was plain old banana bread without nuts; and I did keep my promise of no nuts. This was my best banana bread yet, and it reminded me of the Caribbean coconut sweet bread I’d have all the time as a child. Moist, dense with just enough sweetness and I could taste the coconut and banana.

Leave a Reply

