Skillet Penne Pasta Dinner

Skillet Penne Pasta Dinner - Candy Coated Culinista

Skillet Penne Pasta Dinner – Candy Coated Culinista

When I was a child pasta night was always Friday and my mom would make her tried and true pasta dish. I have been reminiscing and thinking about my mom more than usual lately and I decided to pay homage and make my version of her dish.

Yield/Serving: 8
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 4 cups Penne Rigate
• 2 lbs lean ground beef
• 1 tsp Sea salt
• ½ tsp Black pepper
• 1 tsp Paprika
• ½ tsp Season salt
• 1 tsp Onion powder
• ½ tsp Garlic powder
• 4 cloves garlic, finely diced
• ½ cup white mushrooms, chopped
• half of one small white onion
• ½ cup of grape tomatoes, halved
• 2 cups marinara sauce
• Generous handful of Italian parsley
• ½ cup of mozzarella cheese
• ½ cup of cheddar cheese
• ¼ cup of parmesan cheese

Assembly
1. In a large pot of boiling salted water cook penne until al dente.
2. Drain in a colander once cooked.
3. Using a 12” cast iron skillet brown the ground beef and add the salt, pepper, paprika, season salt, onion powder and garlic powder.
4. After 5 minutes stir in the diced garlic along with the mushrooms, onion and grape tomatoes and let cook for another 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
5. Pre-heat oven to 375°F.
6. Stir in the marinara sauce to the meat mixture and add parsley and cook at a simmer for 5 to 7 minutes.
7. Pour pasta into the skillet and incorporate into the meat mixture.
8. Sprinkle the cheese on top and bake for 10 minutes to allow cheese to melt.
9. Serve.

Tips
• Freeze some to bake at a later time.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
I was so happy with how this tasted and turned out and it was true to my mom’s dish. My mom used a stovetop skillet; but since I have a nice cast iron skillet I decided to take it to the oven and bake it in the dish. I just wish the thing was a little lighter is all.

Leave a Reply

