Ricotta Gnocchi

Ricotta Gnocchi - Candy Coated Culinista

Ricotta Gnocchi – Candy Coated Culinista

I buy ricotta from time to time for very specific recipes, but then I have so much leftover ricotta I just don’t know what to make with it, as I find ricotta to just be a boring cheese. I always say I will use it in another recipe, but then it always gets tossed out. This time I had a goal to use up all my ingredient loose ends and I did.

Yield/Serving: 2
Prep Time: 10 min.
Cook Time: 2 to 3 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
Gnocchi
• 1 ½ cup fresh soft Ricotta cheese, water squeezed from it
• 1 cup all-purpose flour
• ¼ cup parmigiano reggiano
• 4 cloves garlic, minced
• 3 tbsp fresh thyme minced
• Zest from 1 lemon
• ½ jalapeño, finely diced
• Handful of cilantro, finely diced
• Green onion, sprig of
• Sea salt, to taste
• Black pepper, to taste
• 1 egg
Butter Basting
• 2 tbsp butter
Tomato Sauce
• 1 canned tomatoes, crushed
• Handful of parsley, garnish

Assembly
Gnocchi
1. In a large bowl mix all the ingredients together by hand until well incorporated and dough comes together.
2. Sprinkle a clean pastry board with flour and roll dough into 6 even pieces.
3. Gently roll each piece into a long slender rope, about ¾” wide, and cut with a knife.
4. Generously flour a baking sheet and place the gnocchi on and shake until coated.
5. Freeze if desired. (See tips below).
6. Boil a large saucepan of salted water and cook gnocchi until it begins to float, 2 to 3 minutes.
7. In a large frying pan melt butter and pour gnocchi over top and brown.
Tomato Sauce
8. In a medium frying pan pour the crushed tomatoes in and let reduce.
9. Once tomato sauce has reduced, gently stir in gnocchi and top with fresh parsley and serve.

Tips
• Be careful to not overwork the dough.
• Gnocchi can be frozen. After step four is completed place the tray into the freezer for two hours and then transfer to a zip lock bag and continue to follow the instructions at a later time when ready to consume.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
I have never been a fan of gnocchi and I love potatoes; but I just seem to find it to be very bland. The ricotta gnocchi however was flavourful and light and came together so easily I was quite impressed. I even froze some for later.

Leave a Reply

