Classy Brunch : Poached Egg Practice #1

Poached Egg: Practice #1 - Candy Coated Culinista

Poached Egg: Practice #1 – Candy Coated Culinista

I have never poached an egg before and seeing many a Masterchef egg poaching challenge I thought this was going to be hard, but then I found this recipe on The Kitchn – http://www.thekitchn.com and it seemed totally doable. Then I see the outcome and think nope something’s a little off here.

The Kitchn

Yield/Serving: 1
Prep Time: 5 min.
Cook Time: 4 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 1 extra large egg
• 1 tbsp white vinegar
• Salt, to taste
• Black pepper, to taste

Assembly
1. Using a medium saucepan filled two-thirds full with water and bring to a boil.
2. Once water has boiled, bring down to a simmer. (bubbles coming to the surface, but not a rolling bubble)
3. Crack an egg and place in a small measuring cup with a handle, so it will be easier to ease the egg into the saucepan.
4. Add the vinegar to the water.
5. Carefully ease the egg into the water and tip the egg out of the measuring cup.
6. Cook for 4 minutes.
7. Remove egg from the saucepan with a slotted spoon and pat dry if desired.
8. Season with salt & pepper and serve.

Tips
• If you want to poach two eggs at once, ensure the saucepan is big enough to accommodate two without crowding. Add an additional 30 seconds or so to the cook time if multiple eggs are in one saucepan.
• Serve with a croissant and sopressata wrapped asparagus.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
For a first attempt it wasn’t quite bad. I did overcook the egg as I didn’t trust the cook time given and I trusted my eyes instead. I have always seen a swirling technique when poaching an egg, yet this recipe didn’t have that at all hmmmm. The yolk was more to the top then I think it should have been (possibly because of no swirling technique). In any event I’m proud of myself for tackling something I deemed too hard and will try it again with some excellent tips from a chef friend.

Leave a Reply

