Super Moist Carrot Cake

Super Moist Carrot Cake - Candy Coated Culinista

Super Moist Carrot Cake – Candy Coated Culinista

This recipe evolved from a recipe my second mom/big sister uses. She makes this carrot cake all the time and she finally divulged the recipe as she realized with two boys, she has no one to pass her recipes over to and her I am just begging for them. I took her recipe and of course C.C’d it, because I just can’t leave a recipe alone.

Yield/Serving: 3 – 6” round cakes
Prep Time: 1 hour
Cook Time: approx. 35 – 40 min.
Difficulty level is: Medium

Ingredients
• 2 ½ cups unsifted all-purpose flour
• 2 ¼ tsp ground cinnamon
• ½ tsp ground cloves
• ½ tsp ground ginger
• ¾ tsp ground nutmeg
• 1 ½ tsp baking soda
• 1 tsp baking powder
• 1 tsp sea salt
• 1 cup oatmeal crisp maple nut cereal, crushed
• 1 1/3 cup granulated sugar
• 1 tbsp pure maple syrup
• 1 ½ cup vegetable oil
• 3 eggs
• 4 cups carrots, peeled and grated
• 1/3 cup Christmas fruit mix, optional
• 1/3 cup pistachios, optional
• 1/3 cup walnuts, optional
• 1/3 cup pecans, optional

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. Trace out the shape of the pan on pieces of parchment paper.
3. Spray the pans with vegetable oil spray and place parchment paper inside the baking pan.
4. Using a medium sized bowl, combine flour, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, nutmeg, baking soda, baking powder, sea salt and cereal and mix and set aside.
5. In a large bowl beat sugar, maple syrup, vegetable oil and eggs.
6. Add in the carrots and Christmas frit mix until just combined.
7. Incorporate the dry ingredients, using a whisk until just combined.
8. Mix in the nuts.
9. Pour the batter into the three pans and cook for 35 to 40 minutes or until a cake tester inserted comes out clean.
10. Using a flexible cake knife, run it along the edges of the cake pan and then remove from pans and let cool on a wire rack.

Tips
• I’m not a fan of cream cheese frosting, but feel free to make a cream cheese frosting if desired.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
Yesterday when I saw my second mom she gave me a big thumbs up and said you did good. I told her I altered her recipe; which she could tell and she still enjoyed it. My dad called and gave me a glowing review – “This is the best carrot cake I have ever had, you did an amazing job” When he said this I just had to give myself a pat on the back.

My thoughts
When I started grating the carrots by hand using my little (the size of my hand) one sided grater; all I keep saying to myself was there’s got to be an easier way and why in the world would someone make this cake so regularly with all this working out. If I continue to make carrot cake I will need to invest in a box grater or something better than my tiny grater. As for the carrot cake I can’t believe my first attempt at a carrot cake turned out perfectly. I even changed and half batched up a recipe and altered it and it still turned out. I think I really knocked this one out of the park. The top was crunchy as the knife broke into it followed by a super moist interior. I am so proud of myself and beside the arm breaking grating I loved this cake and will make it once and awhile.

Leave a Reply

