Eggnog Trifle

Eggnog Trifle - Candy Coated Culinista

Eggnog Trifle – Candy Coated Culinista

I made my first trip to Honest Ed’s that I can remember, even though I know my parents used to frequent there when they first came to Canada as the prices couldn’t be beat. I’d say that today prices still can’t be beat as I know many a university student who frequents Honest Ed’s. When I went in it probably looked the exact same way as when parents shopped here and that’s fine with me. I came to Honest Ed’s to see what deals were to be had and I found something I always wanted. Mr. C. went one way and I of course gravitated to the cooking section where I found my Trifle Bowl. I remember trifle from my childhood and of course that episode of Friends “The One Where Ross Got High” where Rachel messes up the Trifle for Thanksgiving Dinner. I never thought to make one myself because two people can’t finish off a trifle themselves; but now I had mini trifle bowls along with the regular size one and no excuse but to make a Christmas trifle.

Yield/Serving: 2-4
Prep Time: 15 min.
Cook Time: 30 min.
Difficulty level is: Medium

Ingredients
Amaretti Cookies – makes 24 cookies
• 1& 1/3 cups ground almonds or whole almonds
• 2 egg whites
• ¾ cups granulated sugar
• ¼ tsp almond extract
Custard – makes about 1 cup
• 1 ¼ cups egg nog
• 2 large egg yolks
• 2 tbsp cornstarch
• 2 tbsp confectioner’s sugar
• 1 tbsp dark rum
• ¼ tsp vanilla extract
Pastry Cream – makes 2 cups
• 4 egg yolks
• ½ cup granulated sugar
• ¼ tsp cornstarch
• ¼ tsp kosher salt
• 1 ½ cups eggnog
• 1 tsp vanilla extract
• 4 tbsp unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
Trifle
• Raspberries
• Blueberries
• strawberries

Assembly
Amaretti Cookies
1. Pre-heat oven to 300°F.
2. Place whole almonds in a food processor and grind until a fine consistency is achieved, if you don’t have or can find ground almonds.
3. Using an electric mixer with the whisk attachment beat the egg whites until soft peaks form.
4. Add in the sugar a little at a time until stiff peak form.
5. Add in the almond extract.
6. Gently fold in the ground almonds.
7. Place the mixture into a piping bag and pipe cookies into a lady finger shape and bake for about 20 minutes, or until firm to the touch.
Eggnog Custard
8. Pour the eggnog into a saucepan and heat, but not boil.
9. Using a medium size bowl put in the egg yolks, cornstarch and sugar in and whisk together until well incorporated.
10. Pour the warm milk over the egg mixture and whisk until combined.
11. Return to the pan and stir with a wooden spoon until the mixture thickens, but do not let boil.
12. Pour mixture into a boil and add in the rum and vanilla extract.
13. Let cool.
Eggnog Pastry Cream
14. Using a medium saucepan whisk together the egg yolks, sugar, cornstarch and salt.
15. Whisk in the eggnog and cook over medium-high heat whisking constantly until the mixture has thickened to a consistency of pudding. 2 to 4 minutes.
16. Remove from heat and whisk in the vanilla and then the butter until melted and smooth.
17. Cover pastry cream and refrigerate until completely cool, at least 2 hours and up to 2 days.
Trifle Assembly
18. Place amaretti cookies along the side on a trifle bowl.
19. Pour a small amount of pastry cream in. (enough to hold up the cookies)
20. Place in a layer of blackberries.
21. Layer more pastry cream.
22. Place a layer of raspberries.
23. Make a layer of amaretti cookies.
24. Layer more pastry cream.
25. Place a layer of blueberries.
26. Layer the final layer of pastry cream and decorate with additional berries.

Tips
• If you let the custard sit for more than one day I noticed it was harder than I expected. Add in a little custard or eggnog and thin a little to get it back to that pudding consistency.
• You can layer this anyway you like and also using any of your favourite fruits.
• There will be leftover amaretti cookies.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts

I found my ground almonds weren’t fine enough from the food processor as they still seemed too big for the cookie. Next time I will buy ground almonds which will be a finer consistency.
The recipe I followed said to use a custard for the trifle but I found the custard was too runny for the trifle, however if you prefer a custard to a pastry cream use that. I use the custard recipe to help thin out the pastry cream when it got too thick for me.
This was not a pretty looking trifle to me and I had already cast it off when Mr. C. said he wanted to taste it and he said “it’s taste great, why are you so hard on yourself”. I took a small piece and it did taste great. The creaminess of the pastry cream mixed in with the crunch of the cookies and the freshness of the fruit it was delightful and with the taste of eggnog it’s a great Christmas dessert.

Comments

  1. Oh wow it looks divine! I love your foodie posts, everything always look so good 🙂

Leave a Reply

