Corn Chowder

Corn Chowder - Candy Coated Culinista

Corn Chowder – Candy Coated Culinista

Corn chowder is the ultimate comfort food I have never tried or made before.

Yield/Serving: 4

Ingredients
• 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
• 3 stalk celery, chopped
• 1 stalk leek, chopped
• 1 medium onion, chopped
• ¼ tsp dried thyme
• 1 tbsp all-purpose flour
• 2 cups heavy cream
• 2 cup vegetable stock
• 1 sweet red pepper, diced
• 1 medium potato, peeled and cut into cubes
• 2 cups fresh corn kernels, of the cob
• ¼ cup fresh Itallian parsley
• ½ tsp paprika
• Salt, to taste
• Black pepper, to taste

Assembly
1. Using a large saucepan over medium high heat pour extra virgin olive oil.
2. Add in the celery, onion, leeks along with dried thyme and cook until slightly browned, stirring frequently.
3. Sprinkle flour over vegetables and stir for a few minutes.
4. Add in the heavy cream and potato and let boil, stirring as to not let the vegetables stick to the bottom of the pot.
5. Add in the vegetable stock and cook until potatoes are tender, about 10 minutes.
6. Ladle into a soup bowl and garnish with parsley.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
I don’t think I’m a fan of creamy milk based soups; I am more of broth fan. I just couldn’t get passed the fact that there was milk in my soup. The flavours were great but when I make this again I will make it using stock and not any milk products. This soup was vibrant and colourful and I wanted to eat it with my eyes, which are all the qualities you want when looking at your food.

Leave a Reply

