Spiderweb Chocolate Pumpkin Cheesecake Pie

Spiderweb Chocolate Pumpkin Cheesecake Pie - Candy Coated Culinista

This Halloween themed dessert is filled with all the good seasonal ingredients to make it the perfect autumn treat. Also chocolate and cheese never hurts either right?

Yield/Serving: 8
Prep Time: 20 min.
Cook Time: 1hr.
Difficulty level is: Medium

Ingredients
For Crust
• 2 cups chocolate cookies, crumbled
• ¼ cup unsalted butter melted
For Pumpkin Filling
• 3 eggs
• 1- 15oz. can of packed pumpkin puree
• ½ cup (1 can) condensed milk
• 1 tsp ground cinnamon
• 1/8 tsp ground cloves
• 1/8 tsp ground ginger
• 1/8 ground nutmeg
• ¼ tsp sea salt
For Cheesecake Filling
• 8oz. cream cheese
• ½ cup white sugar
• 1 tsp vanilla extract
• 1 egg

Assembly
For Crust
1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. Using a food processor, crumble chocolate cookie crumbs.
3. In a small prep bowl melt the butter using a microwave.
4. Add the butter into the cookie crumbs and combine until evenly coated.
5. Press crumbs into the bottom and up the sides of 9” pie plate.
For Pumpkin Filling
6. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and add pumpkin puree, condensed milk, spices and combine until smooth.
For Cheesecake Filling
7. Using an electric mixer, with the paddle attachment beat cream cheese until softened, add the sugar and incorporate the vanilla extract and egg.
Assembly
8. Pour the pumpkin filling into the cookie crust.
9. Pour the cream cheese filling into a piping bag.
Make the Spider Web Design:
10. Pipe concentric circles of cream cheese around the pie.
11. Using a clean knife drag the blade of the knife 8 to 10 lines from the outside of the pie to the centre. (ensure you clean off the knife after each line is made)
12. Bake at 300°F for 60 minutes.
13. Let cool and serve.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
This tasted amazing from my reviews, but for me I was left disappointed. Towards the outside of the pie it had set, but the interior was still unset even though I gave it a day to set. I thought I was giving the pie enough time and the crust was stuck pretty well to the pie plate also. When I got home I put the leftovers in the freezer and it firmed up much better, so if I had a blast chiller this would have turned out great. I was really hoping for a prettier spider web then what I made, but for my first try at decorating a pie I can’t be too hard on myself, even though I like to be. I think overall the mixture was just a tad too runny and possible a smaller pie tray would help with the soft middle and maybe one less egg and more cream cheese.

Comments

  1. Oh…this looks absolutely incredible!!! Gotta try it.
    Any kind of chocolate cookies?

  2. Yum Yum!

Leave a Reply

