Cantaloupe Sorbetto

Cantaloupe Sorbetto - Candy Coated Culinista

Cantaloupe Sorbetto – Candy Coated Culinista

Italian food is my second favourite type of food and yet I don’t own one purely Italian book yet. My book arrived last Saturday and I had to make something immediately from it. Fall is here and soon from now cantaloupe will be at a premium, so now is the best time while summer fruits are still readily available.

Molto Gusto – Mario Batali

Yield/Serving: 5 cups
Prep Time: 10 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
Simple Syrup
• 2 cup water
• 2 cup sugar
Sorbetto
• 3 ½ cups cantaloupe juice, from 1 cantaloupe, peeled, seeded and cut into cubes
• 1 ½ cups simple syrup
• Juice from 1 lemon
• ½ tsp sea salt

Assembly
Simple Syrup
1. Over medium heat, stir equal parts sugar and water in a saucepan and boil until sugar has dissolved.
2. Remove from heat and let cool.
3. Pour into a container and let chill thoroughly.
Sorbetto
4. Peel, seed and cut cantaloupe into cubes.
5. Place cantaloupe pieces into a blender along with the simple syrup and lemon juice on the juice setting and blend.
6. Cover and refrigerate for 2 hours, until thoroughly chilled.
7. Freeze the sorbet in an ice cream machine, according to the manufactures instructions.
8. Place into a container and freeze for 1 hour before serving.

Tips
• Syrup will keep for up to 1 month in the refrigerator.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
Surprisingly I found this to be sweet. I thought this would never happen but it has; I am starting to get used to the less refined sugars in my diet. Other than that I could taste the freshness of the cantaloupe. This is my third time making sorbet/sorbetto and each time the results varied. The first time the sorbet was rock hard (a fruit ice cube); the second time I think there was too much fruit and not enough sugar and this time too much sugar. I found that the sorbetto wouldn’t set even though I have a proper ice cream container for the freezer. I also think my freezer is too full not allowing enough cold air to blast the sorbetto. The mixture should taste a little sweet because as the freezing occurs it will lose some of its sweetness. I love the idea of a cantaloupe sorbetto and I will make this again adjusted to my new palette.

Cantaloupe Sorbetto - Candy Coated Culinista

Cantaloupe Sorbetto – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

