French Onion Soup

French Onion Soup - Candy Coated Cullinista

French Onion Soup – Candy Coated Cullinista

A rich vegetable broth, served with artisan whole wheat bread sounds delish right? I have been practicing my knife skills and I thought making French onion soup would be a good idea after having a cutting board full of onions and my eyes full of some almost forming tears.

Yield/Serving: 1
Prep Time: 10 min.
Cook Time: 2hrs & 45min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• ¼ cup vegetable margarine
• 1 onion, sliced lengthwise
• 1 sweet onion, sliced lengthwise
• 1 red onion, sliced lengthwise
• ½ tsp sea salt, to taste
• 900ml vegetable stock
• Ground black pepper, to taste
• Artisanal bread, cut into thick slices

Assembly
1. Slice all the onions the lengthwise and then slice a few into half.
2. In a large saucepan over medium-high heat and melt the margarine until it’s foamy.
3. Add in all the onions and coat with the margarine.
4. Add in the sea salt and mix.
5. Lower the temperature to medium-low and let onion mixture brown for 45 minutes, stirring frequently until they have turned a dark brown.
6. Pour in the vegetable stock and let boil for 5 minutes.
7. Finally turn down the heat to low and let simmer for 2 hours. (Cook longer if desired)
8. Season with black pepper and serve immediately with a few slices of artisan bread.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
My knife skills are improving; granted I am slower when I use the proper cutting form but I will speed up over time. Until the onions broke down the whole place smelt like onions and made my eyes burn. I’m not sure if I would make this again just based on this even if the soup tasted great. It was a lot of watching and waiting for some soup. I may try a version in the slow cooker and see if that is a possible way to make French onion soup. I have never had French onion soup before, but I was told by Mr. C. that it tasted like it should (he isn’t a fan of French Onion soup though). I always wondered why this soup could cost anywhere from $7 to $10 in the restaurants, but I never realized how much onions and time was put into this dish. Typically beef broth is used and topped with cheese, but I wanted to make a totally vegan option and I used vegetable margarine vs. butter.

Leave a Reply

