Date Night Cookies – My Signature Cookie

Date Night Cookies - Candy Coated Culinista

Date Night Cookies – Candy Coated Culinista

I have a signature cookie! My signature cookie came about because I had a lot of ingredients I wanted to use up and a failed caramel recipe to re-purpose. It was my first attempt making caramel and the outer edges became caramel but the interior was too hard. I renamed my caramel to toffee and chopped up some pieces for my new cookie, along with some pretzels hanging around and taking up my precious cupboard space. Today I decided to get creative and here is my signature cookie.

Yield/Serving: approx. 18 cookies
Prep Time: 10 min.
Cook Time: 10 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 225g (8 oz) dark chocolate 70% cocoa
• 4 tbsp unsalted butter
• 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
• 2 tbsp cocoa powder
• ½ tsp baking powder
• ½ tsp baking soda
• ½ tsp kosher salt
• 2 eggs
• ¾ cups turbinado sugar
• 2 tsp vanilla extract try another one (pear??)
• ¼ cups semisweet chocolate chips
• ½ cup creamy peanut butter
• ¼ cups powdered sugar
• 1¼ cup pretzel pieces
• ½ cup toffee bits

Assembly
1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper.
3. Melt chocolate and butter in the microwave using a microwave-safe bowl and let cool.
4. In a separate large bowl whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
5. In a medium sized bowl beat the eggs, sugars and vanilla until fluffy, by hand.
6. Slowly add in the melted chocolate mix and then slowly add the flour mixture until just combined.
7. Fold in the chocolate chips, peanut butter, powdered sugar, pretzels and toffee.
8. Scoop into balls and place on the parchment paper,
9. Bake for 8-9 minutes on the center of the rack in two batches.
10. Let cool on a wire rack.

Tips
• Place pretzels in a baggie and crush with a rolling pin.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
These were great and looked like an actual cookie without me following someone else’s recipe. I also like that I didn’t have to bring out the mixer, sometimes I really just don’t want to get that thing out. I was hoping my first cookie creation would have been a non –chocolate cookie, as I am not fond of chocolate, but I am now realizing I make a great chocolate cookie. It was rich, flavourful and I could detect all the ingredients I put in.

Comments

  1. Looks delicious …

Leave a Reply

