Slow Cooker Chilli

Slow Cooker Chilli - Candy Coated Culinista

Slow Cooker Chilli – Candy Coated Culinista

I am the proud owner of a new slow cooker and I just had to christen it with chilli per Mr. C. When I mentioned to him I could get a great deal on a slow cooker he immediately chimed in chilli please.

Yield/Serving: approx. 7 quarts
Prep Time: 35 min.
Cook Time: 6 hours
Difficulty level is: Medium

Ingredients
• 1lb ground beef
• 1lb ground veal
• 1lb ground pork
• Spices: cumin, chilli powder, mango chipotle, tamarind, salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder
• 1 tbsp vegetable oil
• 2 onions, minced, diced
• 1 bulb of garlic
• 3 stalks of celery, diced
• 2 can tomatoes (796 ml) 28 oz, each
• Tomato paste (369 ml) 13 fl oz
• 1 can red kidney beans, rinsed and drained (540 ml) 19 fl oz
• 1 can white kidney beans, rinsed and drained (540 ml) 19 fl oz
• 1 large yellow pepper, diced
• 1 large green pepper, diced
• Cremini mushrooms diced, 272 g
• Green onions
• Cilantro
• Basil
• 12 dashes of worcestershire sauce
• 3 tbsp of franks red hot sauce

Assembly
1. In a large frying pan season and brown ground beef, veal and pork and pour into crock pot.
2. In the same frying pan add vegetable oil to frying pan and sauté onions, garlic and celery.
3. Pour sautéed veggies along with the tomatoes and tomato paste into slow cooker and stir.
4. Add and the kidney beans, peppers, mushrooms, green onions, cilantro and basil and incorporate.
5. Add the worcestershire and hot sauce and give the mixture one last good stir.
6. Cook for 6 hours on low.

Tips
• This is also great to use as a pasta meat sauce.
• Use on chilli cheese fries.
• This could even work as a nacho dip base

Please Enjoy

Reviews
“The chilli was amazing – that slow cooker is staying down – we’ll find space for it” (I really just wanted to test the slow cooker and put it into storage until we have more cupboard space; but with this review I will have to make room.)

My thoughts
This made an insane amount of chilli and I ran out of room using my 6.5 quart slow cooker. I gave some to my dad and to my in-laws and still had some to freeze. I had to leave my diced peppers and mushrooms until the end to stir in. I can now see why people like the slow cooker; it’s pretty much set it and forget it. I did however not trust the whole leave the house and come back to your home not being burnt down; but we left to go to the movies and have a late patio lunch and when we return the smell of chilli greeted us at the door and it was not over cooked. So far I’m really impressed and wonder what took me so long to get one. I have purchased a book to give me some great recipes and inspiration to use my new friend.

Leave a Reply

