Vanilla Almond Milk

Vanilla Almond Milk - Candy Coated Culinista

Vanilla Almond Milk – Candy Coated Culinista

I have a theory that I can make Mr. C. a vegetarian, vegan, pescatarian or a flexitarian and he wouldn’t even notice. When I met Mr. C. vegetables barely touched his lips and I slowly started adding vegetables to his diet and even hid them in sauces; like my homemade tomato sauce. Now here we are 4 years later and we both are many pounds lighter and have alot more muscle on us, because we both are eating so much healthier and it make me so proud of us. This is a great feeling because when we do choose to eat something a little unhealthier we aren’t breaking the bank, and there is no guilt. I have never been a dieter as I am a firm believer in moderation since I was a child and I have never had any issues with my weight. Since I’m a huge foodie I am always reading, researching, purchasing new cookbooks and looking into new things to try and eat. I have been trying to add almond milk to my diet, which wasn’t the problem. The problem was sneaking it into Mr. C.’s food unbeknownst to him. For about a week I put vanilla almond milk into our smoothies (I hid the almond milk carton behind the Orange Juice in the very back of the fridge) and I finally asked him “how do you like the smoothies with almond milk” He proceeded to say “I knew some different was going on with the smoothies.” I realized he was a fan and he even emailed me a homemade recipe for almond milk. This made me proud and he even found a recipe from one of my favourite food sites I research from; the kitchen – http://www.thekitchn.com. With this new knowledge I went on my merry way to retrieve the components to make fresh almond milk at home, and purchased my first weck jar I have been pining to buy but had no real use for until today.

Yield/Serving: almost 1 litre
Prep Time: 24 soaking over night
Cook Time: 5 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 1 cup raw almonds
• 2 cups water, for soaking
• 4 cups filtered water
• 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
• 2 tbsp agave nectar

Assembly
1. Soak almond in 1 cup of water covered for 24 hours.
2. After 24 hours, drain the water through a strainer from the almonds and pour almonds into a blender.
3. Add 4 cups of filtered water and blend for 2 minutes.
4. Line a strainer with a cheesecloth and pour the almond meal through and allow almond milk to pass through strainer.
5. Twist and squeeze the cheesecloth to extract the remaining amounts of almond milk.
6. Add the sweetener and extract if so desired.
7. Pour in a container with a cap and use within 3 days.

Tips
• Sweeteners used can be: sugar, honey, agave nectar, maple syrup all to taste or optional.
• There is only a 3 days shelf life on homemade almond milk so be aware of that.
• Leftover meal, can be used in smoothies, oatmeal, baked goods like cookies or muffins, hummus, granola, crackers, butter and you can freeze it.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
The almond milk was very good. I didn’t taste like the vanilla almond milk from the carton though. That may be attributed to their process and whatever else goes into to it to extend the shelf life. I added too much vanilla, because I never thought to let the vanilla sit overnight and taste it in the morning. I adjusted the recipe above as I added way too much and didn’t give the vanilla a chance to marry with the almond milk. Next time I think I will soak the almonds longer to get a creamier consistency and filter it more as I still got some almond chunks. I think I need to invest in a proper nut milk bag since I plan on making more almond milk at home.

Leave a Reply

