Homemade Tomato Sauce

Homemade Tomato Sauce - Candy Coated Culinista

Homemade Tomato Sauce – Candy Coated Culinista

After my adventures with my Sweet Pepper Coulis went so well, I was on a high. I had a little bit left of my coulis and thought, “Let’s make pasta for dinner and a special homemade tomato sauce.”

Yield/Serving: almost 1 litre
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 3 tbsp of olive oil
• 3 medium carrots, rough chop
• 2 small red pepper, rough chop
• 2 small orange pepper, rough chop
• 2 small yellow pepper, rough chop
• 1 medium onion, rough chop
• 1 garlic bulb, rough chop
• 1 cup white wine
• 1 tbsp basil
• 1 tbsp oregano
• Sea salt pepper to taste
• Black pepper to taste
• 1 can, crushed tomatoes (796 ml, 28 fl. Oz.)

Assembly
1. Put olive oil into a pot and let heat up on medium high heat.
2. Add the carrots and let them cook until they are lightly browned.
3. Now add all the other vegetables with a ½ cup of wine and let simmer for 15-20 minutes.
4. Puree the vegetables with an immersion blender.
5. Add the basil, oregano, salt, black pepper, crushed tomatoes and the remaining wine to the pot and let cook for 30 minutes.
6. Stir frequently as it will bubble.

Tips
• Freeze remaining in some Mason Jars and remember to leave some space for expansion. (Use mason jars or any thicker walled glass jar that can take freezer temperatures)
• You will need an immersion blender. If not a blender will work just as well.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
Mr. C. enjoyed it very much, especially since I promised pasta Aglio Et Olio and I went in a totally different direction, he was pleasantly surprised. I also gave a sample of my tomato sauce to my Italian co-worker with some pasta for lunch and a jar for when she makes pasta at home. Her review was “Don’t ever tell my mom but that’s one of the best sauces I’ve ever had!” She quite frankly told me she didn’t expect it to be that great and I didn’t even know how to take that comment. Is it because I’m not Italian? or she’s tasted the best and nothing can top that? Whatever the reason was it sure made me laugh.

My thoughts
I really like this sauce and it’s healthy. It would be great for kids as all the healthy stuff has been pureed so no little eyes can point out any evil yucky veggies. Let’s face it; it’s also good for the men in your life that still have their aversion to all things vegetable in nature.

Leave a Reply

