Sweet Pepper Coulis

Peppers were on sale and I bought too much (the over-eager shopper that I am). I decided to make steak for dinner with some mixed vegetables and a wild mushroom rice. The question was “what am I going to do with all these peppers?… I know I will make a sauce or a coulis (a thick sauce made from pureed vegetable or fruits) for the steak”. My inspiration for this sauce was from an entrée I had at The Keg Mansion for our 1 year anniversary. I choose the top sirloin with roasted red peppers and feta cheese. I can’t believe I still remember that meal today over 3 years later. I guess I must have really enjoyed it, and my dish was just as tasty if I say so myself.

Yield/Serving: 250 ml
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 1 tbsp of olive oil
• 1 small yellow sweet pepper chopped
• 1 small red sweet pepper chopped
• 1 small orange sweet pepper chopped
• 2 cloves of garlic chopped
• 1 small tomato chopped
• 1 small onion chopped
• ½ tsp kosher salt
• ½ tsp black pepper
• 1 tsp dried basil
• 1 cup dry white wine

Assembly
1. Add all the ingredients into a pot to boil.
2. Once the vegetables become tender, reduce temperature to low to simmer for 15-20 minutes. (Or until liquid starts reducing.)
3. Remove pot from burner and use immersion blender to mix the ingredients.

Tips
• I had leftover Sweet Pepper Coulis, so I re-purposed it into my homemade tomato sauce I made the next day.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
Mr. C. said “very very tasty. It added a nice tang to the steak also when mixed with the rice it was awesome. “

My thoughts
This was a really surprising concoction I came up with; and it all came about because I had too many peppers. I love when my cooking experiments work out well. (I’m not talking to you Cheesecake Fudge)

Leave a Reply

