Lemon Meringue Cranberry White Chocolate Chip Scones with Lemon Glaze

Lemon Meringue Cranberry White Chocolate Chip Scones with Lemon Glaze - Candy Coated Culinista

Lemon Meringue Cranberry White Chocolate Chip Scones with Lemon Glaze – Candy Coated Culinista

Pinkies up. I think I may have a loose leaf tea addiction! I have one whole shelf dedicated to teas and I really think I need to start finding a way to incorporate teas into my baking and cooking even. My absolute favourite loose leaf teas come from Tealish Fine Teas on Queen St West in Toronto. I saw them at the One of a Kind show a few years back, and ever since a huge portion of my teas come from them. They have such tasty, interesting and inventive flavours – particularly the dessert line of teas, that whenever I am in the area I always make sure I stop in and try a flavour I don’t have a home. As I’m always up to trying something new and fun I tried to add tea into my scones.

Yield/Serving: 8
Prep Time: 20 min
Cook Time: 20 – 25 min
Difficulty level is: Medium

Ingredients
Scones
• ¾ cups 2% milk
• 2 tbsp lemon meringue rooibos tea, to steep in the milk
• 2 cups all-purpose flour
• ½ cup granulated sugar
• 1 tbsp baking powder
• 1 tbsp lemon meringue rooibos tea, finely ground
• ½ tsp sea salt
• Lemon zest from one large lemon
• ½ cup unsalted butter, cold and cut into small pieces
• 1 large egg
• 1 tsp vanilla extract
• 1 cup frozen cranberries
• 1/3 cup mini white chocolate chips
• 2% milk for brushing
Glaze
• 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
• ½ tsp tbsp lemon meringue rooibos tea, finely ground
• 4 tbsp lemon juice

Assembly
Scones
1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
2. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
3. In a small saucepan boil milk and let the lemon meringue tea steep in milk until needed for the recipe.
4. In a large bowl sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, lemon meringue rooibos tea and salt.
5. Whisk in lemon zest.
6. Add in cubed butter and mix by hand, or use a pastry blender or food processor if you have them.
7. In a separate medium sized bowl, whisk together tea infused milk, egg and vanilla extract together.
8. Add in the milk mixture into the flour slowly and bring the dough together.
9. Flour countertop and lightly and knead dough until a ball is formed.
10. By hand flatten the dough out and push in the cranberries and white chocolate chips.
11. Fold dough over again a few times and let all the ingredients incorporate.
12. Shape dough into a 9” circle and cut into 8 wedges and place on cookie sheet leaving a space between each piece.
13. Brush with milk and bake for 20-25 minutes or until lightly browned on top.
14. Let cool completely before adding the glaze.
Glaze
15. In a bowl whisk confectioners’ sugar, tea and lemon juice together and drizzle over cooled scones with a fork.
16. Let glaze set and serve.

Tips
• Use a food processor to mix the dough or a pastry blender. I bought a pastry blender for this recipe and it is the best ten dollars I ever spent. Now when I have to mix by hand I will be using a pastry blender and save my hands.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
I have never tasted or made a scone before, but if they taste like mine tasted I think I will have more. It was flavourful and complex with the sweet & tartness in the scone. This was a perfect treat with my afternoon tea.

Lemon Meringue Cranberry White Chocolate Chip Scones with Lemon Glaze - Candy Coated Culinista

Lemon Meringue Cranberry White Chocolate Chip Scones with Lemon Glaze – Candy Coated Culinista

Trackbacks

  1. […] cooking club challenge that I decided to try, just to see how much this recipe varied from my Lemon Merignue Cranberry White Chocolate Scones with Lemon Glaze […]

Leave a Reply

