Feta Hummus

Feta Hummus - Candy Coated Culinista

Feta Hummus – Candy Coated Culinista

I don’t like hummus at all … chick peas and I don’t get along; but I want to like hummus because it’s so healthy. I thought if I can pump up the flavour I may have a chance of liking hummus.

Yield/Serving: almost 2 cups
Prep Time: 5 min.
Cook Time: 5 min.
Difficulty level is: Easy

Ingredients
• 540ml chick peas
• ¼ cup tahini
• 2 cloves garlic, minced
• Juice from 1 lemon
• ¼ tsp ground cumin
• ¼ tsp paprika
• ¼ tsp cayenne pepper
• ¼ tsp black pepper
• ¼ tsp kosher salt
• 1/3 cup feta cheese, crumbled
• 3 tbsp water
• 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
• Extra virgin olive oil, to decorate
• Paprika, to decorate
• Green onion, chopped, to decorate

Assembly
1. Rinse off chick peas and pour into the food processor.
2. Add in tahini, garlic, lemon juice, cumin, paprika, cayenne pepper, black pepper, salt, feta, water and olive oil and mix until a smooth consistency is achieved.
3. Pour into a bowl and drizzle some olive oil, sprinkle a little paprika and green onions on top.
4. Serve with veggies, bread or chips.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
The verdict is this definitely tastes better than the other hummus I have had. Do I like hummus now – well I’m still on the fence. The added feta and spices made me enjoy it more, but I still can’t get past the colourless texture or hummus. I am moving in the right direction though to one day enjoying it more.

Leave a Reply

