Lemon and Blueberry Yogurt Cake with Vanilla Glaze

Lemon & Blueberry Yogurt Cake - Candy Coated Culinista

Lemon & Blueberry Yogurt Cake – Candy Coated Culinista

I was walking to work one morning and it was such a nice day out (for March), that I decided to take my walk to work outside and not use the underground PATH. When I got to Yonge & King there were free samples of Silhouette Greek Yogurt being handed out. I was given blueberry and since Mr. C. has his favourite yogurt already in the house and I don’t like the stuff unless it’s in a smoothie, (It’s a texture thing). I decided to find a recipe where I could use it and not waste my freebies. I knew that yogurt could be used in cakes to make it extra moist so I made a go of it.

Yield/Serving: 1 bread loaf pan & 1- 9” cake pan
Prep Time: 30 minutes for cake, 10 minutes for syrup and 10 minutes for glaze
Cook Time: 55–60 minutes for Bread loaf and 50-55 minutes for 9” cake pan
Difficulty level is: Medium (Labour intensive but so worth it)

Ingredients
Cake
• Flour to grease the pans
• Butter to grease the pans
• 3 cups all-purpose flour
• 4 tsp baking powder
• ½ tsp of salt
• 400g Blueberry Greek Yogurt
• 2 cups sugar
• 6 eggs
• 2/3 cup canola oil
• Lemon zest grated from one lemon
• 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
• 125g (4.4 oz) fresh blueberries & 2 tsp flour
Lemon Simple Syrup
• 2 freshly squeezed lemons, juiced
• 2/3 cup sugar
Vanilla Glaze
• 3/4 cup powdered sugar
• 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
• milk, as needed

Assembly/Method
Cake
1. Preheat the oven to 350°.
2. Grease and flour a bread loaf pan.
3. In a bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt.
4. In a separate large bowl (or your mixer bowl), whisk together the yogurt, sugar, eggs, canola oil, lemon zest, and vanilla extract.
5. Now add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix (using the paddle attachment) until batter is smooth.
6. In a small bowl sprinkle 2 tsp of flour over blueberries and toss to coat.
7. Gently fold blueberries into the cake batter.
8. Pour the batter into the prepared pans and bake for about 50-60 minutes, or until toothpick tester comes out clean.
9. Now start of the lemon simple syrup. (see below)
10. When the cake is finished baking, run a silicone knife along the edges of the pan to loosen.
11. Let it cool in the pan for 10 minutes.
12. Transfer cake to wire cooling rack on top of a sheet pan.
13. Pour the lemon syrup over the cake and allow it to soak in.
14. Let cake cool (for at least an hour or longer if you have the time).
15. Prepare the vanilla glaze. (see below)
Lemon Simple Syrup
1. In a small sauce pan over medium heat, stir together the lemon juice and sugar.
2. Cook until the sugar dissolves completely.
3. Turn off heat and set aside.
Vanilla Glaze
1. In a small bowl, stir together the powdered sugar, vanilla extract, and enough milk to make a glaze consistency.
2. Pour over the cooled cake and let it run down the sides.
3. Transfer to a serving platter, slice and enjoy!

Tips
• I was making dinner and baking at the same time so counter space was at a premium for me. If you don’t have lots of counter space you can take the cake out of the pans and let it cool, and put the cakes back in the pan and pour the simple syrup on them. When it’s time to pour the glaze on, you can place the cakes on some wax paper on a cutting board and let it cool – This is what I did.

Please Enjoy

Reviews
I gave Mr. C. six thick slices to take into work in the morning, and within an hour of him getting in, he emailed me to say. I have requests for the cake recipe.
“I have to say that was delicious indeed. And I didn’t feel guilty eating it…should I have?”

“I do like my lemon-y desserts. Also, it’s totally moist and that glaze was definitely the best”

Mr. C. said, “The cake was really moist and I enjoyed the bursts of fruit flavor when you bit into those pieces. The lemon added a bit of tartness to it and the hint of vanilla glaze on the outside made for a sticky mess on my hands, but it balanced against the tartness of the lemon nicely. If anything I would ratchet up the icing used a little bit to balance between the sweetness and tartness, as the blueberries were fairly tart themselves.”

Lemon & Blueberry Yogurt Cake - Candy Coated Culinista

Lemon & Blueberry Yogurt Cake – Candy Coated Culinista

Lemon & Blueberry Yogurt Cake - Candy Coated Culinista

Lemon & Blueberry Yogurt Cake – Candy Coated Culinista

Lemon & Blueberry Yogurt Cake - Candy Coated Culinista

Lemon & Blueberry Yogurt Cake – Candy Coated Culinista

Lemon & Blueberry Yogurt Cake - Candy Coated Culinista

Lemon & Blueberry Yogurt Cake – Candy Coated Culinista

Trackbacks

  1. […] time I will add more lemon as I like the brightness lemon adds. This recipe reminds me a lot of my Blueberry Yogurt Cake with Vanilla Glaze, which is probably why I gravitated to this recipe in the first place. I will be making this again […]

Leave a Reply

