Happy One Year Anniversary Celebration Cake

Happy 1 Year Anniversary Celebration Cake - Candy Coated Culinista

Happy 1 Year Anniversary Celebration Cake – Candy Coated Culinista

Happy Anniversary Candy Coated Culinista!

Cheers to one year of blogging.

As they say time flies and has it ever. Last May I finally decided to start this blog because my favourite cookies (Post #1 – Chocolate Diablo Cookies from the Tacofino Food Truck in BC) were a part of a cooking club challenge. I took this as a sign to do a little bit more with my love of baking and cooking, and till then my escapades sat on my laptop in many word documents just for myself. Since my mom passed away almost three years ago I have been promising myself to do and try everything once; even if I’m unsure whether it is a weird food or a new activity. Let’s face it we have no clue when our time is up and it would be great to say at the end, that we have tried and done all we could, when we could and was able to. With my new philosophy I have been keeping to it and am proud to have reached my one year with consistently posting and sharing my food journals. From my food to my DIY’s, my lemony letdowns to my quests, events, techniques and adventures I have enjoyed this blog immensely. Every day when I am going about my daily routine I find that food is always in my head in minor or major roles. I am thinking about food styling, photo shoots, food pairings, and “is this blog worthy” or not and just jotting down ideas on sticky notes for later. Sometimes things come from it and sometimes not; but one thing that I notice resonates with me is I love a good challenge. Occasionally the food I pick is a real challenge; but for me it’s all about the journey and what I learn from it. Even when my recipe becomes a lemony letdown it’s ok, because this is just step one in a journey to master what I am trying to achieve. One day I will get there no matter how many attempts it takes me.

Thanks for reading and enjoying my blog so far as I love hearing the comments and even the requests to try something new.

Happy 1 Year Anniversary Candy Coated Culinista

Yield/Serving: 10
Prep Time: 30 min.
Cook Time: 25 min.
Difficulty level is: Medium

Ingredients
Cake
• 3 ½ cups cake flour, sifted
• 4 tsp baking powder
• ½ tsp salt
• 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
• 1 ½ cups granulated sugar
• 4 egg at room temperature
• 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
• 1 cup 2% milk, at room temperature
• Sprinkles, confetti quinns, to decorate

Frosting
• 2 cup unsalted butter, softened
• 5 cup confectioners’ sugar
• 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
• Food colouring

Assembly
Cake
1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. Line two 9” round cake pan with parchment paper and grease and flour the parchment paper.
3. Sift flour, baking powder and salt into a medium bowl.
4. Using an electric stand mixer with the paddle attachment beat butter until soft, 1-2 minutes.
5. Add ½ cup of sugar and beat until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes and scrape down the sides of the bowl.
6. Add eggs and the vanilla extract and beat until combined.
7. On low speed continue add in the flour mixture and the milk alternating in three parts, ending with the flour and let mix until just combined.
8. Divide the batter into the two prepared cake pans and smooth the top.
9. Bake for 25 minutes or until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean.
10. Let cool in pan until completely cooled.
11. Use a cake leveler and shave of excess if needed.
12. Place frosting on top of the first cake and frost, then place the second cake on top.
13. Frost the remaining sides of the cake.
14. Decorate with sprinkles
Frosting
1. Using an electric stand mixer with the whisk attachment cream butter on high until light and fluffy.
2. Add vanilla extract and beat until combined.
3. Add confectioners’ sugar one cup at a time until well combined.
4. Add in vanilla extract and food colouring and combine.
5. Decorate the cake.
6. Serve immediately or store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

Tips
• If your frosting is too thin, you can add more icing sugar a few tablespoons at a time until you achieve desired consistency.
• Wrap each cake in plastic wrap and place in the freezer for 1 hour to allow the frosting to adhere well.

Please Enjoy

My thoughts
This was my second layered cake ever and I was quite pleased that my frosting this time wasn’t hard and it was easy to spread and decorate. I did find my cake to be dry and too crumbly though and I have to re-vamp this recipe. I still gave pieces to my friends as they have to suffer through the bad along with all my perfectly edible treats they get all the time. I told them upfront that “It’s a little on the dry side but you get all the good treats so you have to at least take a bite and chuck the rest. There is ten dollars in buttercream and that isn’t going to waste.” This is how you guilt people into eating your food and for my friends it works. My next attempt I think I will be to make a simple syrup to pour over the cake to help it stay moist and possibly find a cake decorating class in town. I also had issues moving the cake from the decorating table to the cake stand. I am such a novice I know I am missing some key important steps to make this whole process easier. I was still super proud of myself and almost a year from my first attempt at making a layered cake to today the results have vastly improved and for that I am truly thankful.

I received many compliments on my buttercream as it wasn’t overly sweet and had the perfect texture. I was even asked to make a batch for God-son’s mother. She was making cupcakes for her God-son and wanted my buttercream. Yippee! She is a wonderful cook, baker, seamstress, hairstylist basically anything creative she is great at; she even made my wedding, bridal shower and bachelorette party cakes. This made me feel totally amazing.

**** I did some quick research and it could really be anything : the oven temperature is too high, too much of an ingredient, not enough of another, over baked, the recipe itself, the flour, too many eggs or butter, not enough fat, too much sugar. These could all be the reason why my cake turned out poorly. It’s a great starting point but this is basically means any and possibly this entire recipe was wrong. I think it’s time to try another recipe and see what happens. I will decorate a cake again one I have achieved the perfectly moist cake.

Happy 1 Year Anniversary Celebration Cake - Candy Coated Culinista

Happy 1 Year Anniversary Celebration Cake – Candy Coated Culinista

Happy 1 Year Anniversary Celebration Cake - Candy Coated Culinista

Happy 1 Year Anniversary Celebration Cake – Candy Coated Culinista

Leave a Reply

